Flowers and breakfast

I almost wrote breakfats instead of breakfast.

IMG_0006

Let me first greet you with some Peonies. I am a big flower lover, they just make my day. I can ooh and aah looking at flowers all day and no jokes I always smile when I see them. So this morning when my friend and senior Karuna left them at my desk for me,I was thrilled and delighted. They have the most beautiful pink hue and the fragrance ….simply divine!!!! I love how it is subtle but still there.

Moving on to some fun breakfast ideas. I am very lazy about making breakfast for myself. The husband eats a standard breakfast everyday, eggs with toast and milk. I don’t like to eat the same thing everyday but the problem is I don’t like to cook something special in the morning. So  recently I found a solution and so far the game plan is working really well. This is what has been cooking in my kitchen for the last three days.

Healthy breakfast cake courtesy Mr. Breakfast.  I made this at night with dinner and devoured it this morning. Also I modified the recipe and added 3/4 cup WW flour and 3/4 cup almond flour. No oatmeal since I was out of it. No AP flour for me, our kitchen is an almost “All purpose free zone”

Night shot:

IMG_0012

IMG_0013

Morning shot:

IMG_0002

Giada’s ricotta parfait:

Layer 1:

1/4 cup ricotta cheese with 1/4 cup yogurt.

Layer 2: Raspberry jam

Layer 3: Granola

Topping: pecans

IMG_0079

IMG_0076

The ricotta added a nice creamy sweetness to the tart yogurt. I loved the combination. The jam and granola..oh yum!

In other news,

Sprouting Mung beans 

Day 2:

IMG_0006 IMG_0010

Day 3:

IMG_0011 IMG_0012

See the tiny shoots that are growing, the beans are almost ready to be eaten.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

Sayonara!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 14, 2010, in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Peonies are one of my favorite flowers- SOOOO beautiful! What a treat 🙂 That bake from Mr. Breakfast sounds awesome- there are so many good recipes on that website. And I totally want to try Giada’s parfait.

  2. Yum! Love those ideas!

    And, the flowers are beautiful! We have the same theme going. 🙂

    I adore peonies!

    Have a great weekend, Priyanka!

  3. Sprouting mung beans! cool! I’m thinking of sprouting my pumpkin seeds next time!

  4. I looove Giada! I wouldn’t have guessed that was a ricotta parfait. It sounds delicious…sweet dairy is always awesome. 🙂 And that breakfast cake looks insanely insanely awesome…*drool*

  5. I’m so impressed that your husband makes breakfast every morning! I have to force Nick to eat something, literally. And even then it’s not much (although it’s usually plenty). I have been to the Mr.Breakfast website and found it very helpful. This recipe sounds fantastic!!

  6. YUM i want some of that cakey stuff for breakfast manana!

Leave a Reply

