Blogs inspired dinner and dessert

I am an inspirational cook (I don’t even know if that is a word). Let me explain what I mean. I love to run with a recipe and add my own flare to it. I get creative in the kitchen too but I need a spark to begin with. I need inspiration to get going and that is not something that is limited just to the kitchen. I need that initial impetus to get started and then I can fly away.

And I digress!Any ways, dinner and dessert tonight had elements which have been so popular over the blogosphere. I have been itching to try the nut butter fries for so long now. So tonight with my grilled sandwich I decided to make them.

The dinner menu tonight was:

Since we live in an apartment we don’t have the pleasures of an outdoor grill so for now an indoor George Foreman will work 🙂

The meal in totality!!

DSC00070

DSC00071

DSC00072

Root veggies with 2T peanut butter+1T almond butter+1T Evoo and salt!

Before,

DSC00069

After,

DSC00073

DSC00074

My verdict I found them good and for the first time, my husband seemed to have liked something more than I did. He devoured all of them. So it is a clear winner in this kitchen.

And then dessert rolled in,

Call me retarded but trend seems to affect me very very very slowly.I wait for a long time before joining the bandwagon mainly because I am lazy. But with all the Banana soft serve craze that took the blog world by storm, I finally decided to give this work of genius a try!

Recipe courtesy Gena from (choosing raw)

DSC00080

Mine wasn’t as fluffy as Gena’s but oh my goodness was this amazing or what!?!? Another winner!!!

In other news, keeping up with the tradition of being slow…I planted my herbs and veggies a little late this year. One of them even dried untimely.

Basil and Thyme. After the period of suspension the Thyme is gaining some life back.

DSC00077 DSC00076

The new addition, Lettuce. I am so excited about this!!! I am not sure how well this will grow, but we will see.

DSC00075

Hope everyone had a great Memorial day! Back to work tomorrow 😦

Hasta la vista!!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 31, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love finding inspiration from blogs or food network. Giada is one of my favorites. Those fries are taking the blog world by storm! I need to finally give them a go. Hooray for planting. I’m hoping my garden makes some progress this week

  2. Summer seems to bring about all sorts of amazing grilled goodies – including your parsnip fries! Good luck with the garden!

  3. Goof for you for making do with what you have in your apartment! We just moved out of our apartment and we plan to get a grill soon, but before we did exactly what you did and used the Foreman quite often (or our grill pan on the stove top). We didn’t have a yard either, or a parch, but I love that you have a pot to plant your herbs! Great idea. And your hubby liked the root veggies?! I wish I could say the same about Nick, although I never tried adding PB to them! I like this idea.

  4. in order to get the softserve fluffy you need to blend the heck out of it in a food proc OR in a vita, just blend a little longer

    parsnip fries look awesome!

  5. I do similar things, too! I usually create my own recipes, but they really are spin-offs off either a meal I had in a fabulous restaurant, or even just from a random menu.’

    Yay for your own garden! I used to have a basil plant, but someone stole it. 😦

  6. Wow – lovely combo, girl!
    I´m sure it tasted delicious 🙂
    Wish you a great night!
    XOXO
    Gabriela

Leave a Reply

