Gym Etiquettes

As I mentioned a few days back I am a very sensitive person by nature and let me add sensitive for all wrong reasons. I am sensitive to change in temperature, sunlight, noise both continued and a loud thud. My heart escapes a beat each time I am startled.

However the sensitivity does not end there. I am super sensitive to hearing and smell. I have always been the watch dog of the family, who wakes up at the slightest noise. And when it comes to smell, well let me just say I find this sensitivity ,super annoying. I can smell a dead rat from miles away. I cannot tolerate smelly people and to compensate for others, I swim in my deodorant ocean before I leave the house. But the one place I have no control over is the Gym. It is like the hub of smelly people. Most females are good but men…..

So this evening I had a middle aged man running with all his vigor besides me. I am not sure if you watch King of Queens but if you do he looked a lot like Kevin James. So he was running with all his might and sweating profusely and some how the smell made a direct route into my nose. Now to be the nice and not look rude,I stayed back and decided I would walk for 1 minute and then do the arc trainer.

Little did I know that that one minute would be the longest and worst one minute of my life. The odor just intensified and honestly I am not kidding I thought I would throw up. It was obnoxious. People how about some clean clothes and a deodorant. It does not cost that much just $0.99

Okay enough of the rant and gross talk, but this bring us to an important topic of gym ettiquetes. I know there are some things that are obvious that one should follow like

Wear proper and comfortable shoes and clothings. 

Don’t blast music from your earphones.

But the not so obvious ones or at least the ones I don’t see people following that often are:

  1. Sanitize before and after yourself. It is important to clean up after you leave but just to be on the safer side it is always better if we begin using a cardio machine by sanitizing them with wipes.
  2. Clean your ear plugs with a sanitizer carefully. Due to the sweat it can be a flourishing medium for the bacteria.
  3. Don’t use your cell phone when in a gym. It acts as a distraction when you are exercising and you don’t work out at your best potential. And not to forget the added risk of injuries due to tripping and falling. Additionally no one wants to know what the guy thinks about you or what your boss said?
  4. Try and avoid the gym when you are sick. Not only are you straining yourself, but also risking the transfer of infection to others.
  5. Being courteous to others when using an equipment during the peak hour. 6-8 pm is the peak time when most members show up at the gym. Some super heroes use the cardio machine and then keep their keys and towels hanging to claim the equipment while they get their strength training done.I think this is plainly rude and selfish. 
  6. Competing with others while using the treadmill or the elliptical or using weights. Competing will do no one no good, it is only an open invitation for injuries. Believe me people do that. I have done it myself and sat home with a pulled hamstring thinking that I can run faster than the teenage girl besides me.
  7. I have never experienced this,but this is my husbands’ woe. While using free weights he normally uses the mirror to correct his stance. But some people just pay no attention and walk past or start training right in front  of him.

This was a short list that I came up from my own personal experience. Is there anything that bothers or annoys you at the gym?

****

These days I am becoming a big fan of the Cybex arc trainer.

(Source)

It is  strenuous and in the end I am a sweaty mess. And the stats aren’t bad either

Time: 30 minutes

Calories: 273

Resistance:15

Distance: 1.50 miles

What is your favorite cardio equipment?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 3, 2010, in Workout, gym talk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. ooh a lot of those are peeves of mine too…
    I also hate people who STARE- so creepy!

    I usually like any elliptical for cardio too..the treadmill gets a little repetitive sometimes. But- I do love to do incline walking!

  2. hahahah there are some men that just really are stinky 😉 I couldn’t agree more with #3 Don’t use your cell phone when in a gym.!! Seriously…you can wait (unless you’re 1. pregnant, 2. its an absolute emergency, 3. you have kids that you’re concerned about). Otherwise, this is NOT social time!

  3. I can’t STAND when people use their cell phone while working out! It’s ok to use it when you first come in, or when you are leaving, or even in the locker room, but NOT while you are on the elliptical, you look like a technology addicted fool!

    I am also super sensitive to smells. At the gym I used to go to there was a guy who always STUNK so bad it was nauseating. I would literally get off whichever machine I was on whenever he came around. It was awful, I almost said something but never had the guts…..

  4. Those are definitely some important things that some people forget. I want to take cell phone chatters and chuck their phones across the gym!

  5. Great tips! I hate when people take up a lot of mirror space – there is limited amounts in my gym!

  6. Some people at the gym really do smell… I think workers should require that people put on deodorant before they enter the gym… great tips 🙂

  7. Well, this is one of the reasons why I detest gyms…I’d rather run outside in Mother Nature! At least she doesn’t fart and leave body fluids everywhere!

  8. There are a lot of benefits of being physically fit and active. First of all, a fit and active lifestyle can lead to positive thinking and better concentration. Fitness keeps you feeling and looking healthy. It reduces stress, anxiety, and depression as well. Incorporating fitness exercises into your lifestyle can keep your blood pressure at normal levels.

  1. Pingback: Blogger meet up and texture foods «

Leave a Reply

