Nigella inspired cooking

Hello Ladies! Did you have a good weekend? Did you do anything fun?

I did a lot of reading this weekend. Friday night I picked up the book “A Thousand Splendid Suns” I have been procrastinating reading the two books for so long. But this week I got my hands on both of them, The Kite Runner being the other. After finishing The Kite Runner I wanted to start the second one soon. These books truly were a master piece. I think most of you must have read this by now but if you haven’t you really should.

I started the book Friday evening and was up until 4 a.m. although I did not finish the entire book, I managed to make a dent. This ruined my plans to go to the ‘International Biscuit festival at the farmers’ market this Saturday. But honestly the book just captivated my senses.

Moving on I just wanted to know do you guys watch the Cooking channel. I am so glad, since I can now watch Jamie Oliver’s and Nigella Lawon’s shows.Yay!

Which cookery shows are your favorite?

As ya’ll know my favorites are Giada and Nigella but now I  think I am liking Jamie Oliver’s cooking too.

So I decided to do make some weekend dessert. I made Nigella’s Rocky Road Crunch bar. I varied the quantities a little bit, like instead of 1 stick of butter, I added 1/4 stick. I honestly cannot muster the courage to add so much butter to any dish.

Today at Earthfare I was so excited to find these Kosher Marshmallows made from  Fish Gelatin. Since we don’t eat Pork and Beef, marshmallows are a no no. I was excited to find these and since they happen to be one of the ingredient in these bars, it made the find worthy.

DSC00089 DSC00092

The cookies that were a part of the rocky road,

DSC00094

DSC00097

DSC00099

I let it set in the fridge for about 3 hours and then the outcome TA-DA!!

DSC00109

DSC00103 DSC00104

And then dinner and tomorrows lunch were also inspired by Nigella 🙂

I grabbed Forever summer from the library. Since I was motivationless to cook dinner, I thought lets look through the book may be I’ll get some inspiration.

I came across this recipe, Linguine with chili, crab and watercress.

DSC00100

DSC00101

Now if you think I cooked the recipe exactly as given in the book, I am sorry to disappoint you. I made this version

Rotini with chili, mozarella and arugula. It was amazing, the husband continually praised my creation 😉

DSC00114

DSC00115

Watching the Celtics Vs Lakers match right now and rooting for Celtics!!

Do you like basketball? if yes which team do you root for?

See you tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 6, 2010, in Nigella inspired recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Those rocky road bars look fabulous – yum!! I am not a basketball fan at all, its not as popular here since our team left years ago.

  2. Those were two of my favorite books ever! Yes I am an Aquarius and while I don’t know much about signs, etc. I do think we have a lot in common. I am way too sensitive for my own good!

    It is always tricky trying to find kosher marshmallows…Trader Joe’s had them last year but I haven’t seen them for a long time. I love the Rocky Road Bars, they look fantastic!

    Have a great Monday (if that is possible). 🙂

  3. Hello! I did have a nice weekend thank you! We relaxed, exercised, ate great food and spent time with family and friends. I couldn’t have asked for more. I am LOVING the cooking channel. First off, its great to have two versions of the food network. Second, they have cooking shows when shows like “challenge” and iron chef are on food network! I love it. I love Giada and Ina. Rachael is good for quick ideas- but I usually prefer to look her recipes up online and adjust them to make them lighter. What a treat! The bars look out of this world good. We have an earthfare but I’ve never been to it. Not a basketball girl, but my husband loves it. I prefer football

  4. ;I am impressed with the post. If you can do a youtube video for it. i would watch! 🙂

Leave a Reply

