Meal planning

A few months back I had explained how I was overshooting my budget due to my impulsive purchases and lack of planning. But with a system in hand I  think I am getting there. I am not a big spender except when it comes to food. My closet is full of clothes thanks to my Mum. She adds a new collection every six months. But even then I have no excuse to go bonkers with my grocery bills. Sometimes the veggies just sit and rot, cuz I get them and just forget about it. So this week I have a meal plan properly sketched for the week.

Today i.e. Mondays’  dinner was Meatless Ragu with Fennel salad.

Meatless Ragu:

IMG_0090

(Courtesy: Nigella Express)

Ingredients:

  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 4 baby bella mushrooms sliced
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup dry brown lentils
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp smoked sweet paprika
  • Salt and pepper
  • 3 cups veggie stock
  • EVOO- 1 tbsp

Directions:

  • In a skillet with EVOO, add the garlic,onion till the onions are translucent.
  • Next add the baby bella mushrooms and cook for another 15 seconds.
  • Add the brown rice and the brown lentils. Give them another 2 minutes.
  • Next add the diced tomatoes, spices and season.
  • Add the stock or water. Let it come to a boil and then lower the flame and cover and cook for about 20 minutes.
  • Serve with some cheddar cheese on top.

IMG_0081

IMG_0086

Fennel and baby bella salad:

(Recipe from French food at home)

IMG_0082

Ingredients:

1 bulb fennel

1 stalk of the fronds chopped

4 baby bella sliced

1 scallion soaked in 2 tbsp vinegar with 1/4 tsp salt.

Dressing:

1 lime zest and juice

1 tbsp parsley finely chopped

1 tbsp EVOO

Salt and pepper

Directions:

Prepare the scallions as above keep them aside.

Chop the fennels, baby bell sliced and the fennel fronds.

Mix all the above ingredients and then the dressing.

Chill before serving.

IMG_0087

*****

Workout:

15 minutes of Arc trainer

25 minutes of C25K Week 1 Day 1.

*****

Q. I desperately want to know if you are a runner, how did you get started? Were/Are you a walk/ run person?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 7, 2010, in Dinner, Meal planning, Nigella inspired recipes, Salads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m a runner…I don’t remember exactly how I started, except that my cousin started running and I got jealous of her healthy glow so I started running a bit too, and loved it.

    I don’t spend on other things, either…but I spend so much on food! Mostly snacks!

  2. It’s crazy how much money you can lose simply by letting food go bad! I keep a white board on my fridge with a list of the foods that need consumed. This method really helps me.

    I am a runner, but I don’t love it. I tried getting into it, but I just don’t love it that much. I would much rather walk. I only run when I’m short for time. It’s not worth trying to fall in love with. You either love it, or you don’t (in my opinion).

  3. The ragu looks wonderful! I started running by doing run-walk intervals and building up from there. The trick is to run slow at first, it helped me so much when I slowed down!

Leave a Reply

