Weekend plans

This weekend I am finally taking a break from my monotonous schedule and going to Atlanta. I love going out on weekends like this and additionally I need some form of change. Off late my life has been too boring and there is honestly nothing much going on except getting things in order and being organized.

So this weekend is going to be just what I want.Back when I lived with my parents, my Mum used to be so happy when we went out on vacations. Somehow the whole idea of my Mum wanting a break from work never made any sense to me. To me she was a superwoman who can juggle anything and never needs rest. But as I grew older I started to understand what she went through each and everyday to keep the house in order and deal with the chaos makers i.e. us, her family each day.
I am pretty sure that she must have heaved a sigh of relief after pushing sending us out of the door. Anyways now that I am a wife myself, the responsibility of not only taking care of myself but also my husband stresses me out sometimes. I just want to pull on the covers and sleep for like 100 hours.

So why all this rambling you ask, well as I mentioned I am going to Atlanta this weekend, which mean the following to me,

  1. No Cooking.
  2. No cleaning
  3. Eating Indian food to my hearts’ content.
  4. Watching a Bollywood movie.
  5. Doing some ethnic Indian food grocery shopping. Since ATL has a larger Indian population I can get some stuff that I get either at exorbitant rates or none at all in Knoxville.
  6. And finally going to Blogger favorite stores like Trader Joes and Whole foods. I know many of ya’ll must be wondering that why would I make going to TJs and WFs a big deal but the fact is that Knoxville has none of those. It has a Earthfare which is great but not these two. Oh how I wish we had these in Knoxville!!

Q. So my question to you is, what are some of the staples you get at WFs or TJs. I may be in a time crunch so if you tell me what is good where, I may have a better grip over the situation and know what I should get. I ‘ll be whiling away my time there but you know a little guidance does not hurt:)

Q. Also are you excited about the soccer world cup? I know it is not a big deal in N.America but my I am pretty pumped. The motivation behind this being a soccer fanatic brother. He keeps me all updated about what is  happening in the football..er… soccer world.

**

A post without pictures can be so boring, right!! So here we have it I made a North Indian specialty called Sarson Ka Saag (Mustard greens gravy) with makaai ki roti (corn mean flat breads).

It was good because this was a pretty common dish growing up, but for the first time in four years the husband did not 😦 I was so sad…just kidding!!

But I loved it,it is healthy and green!!

IMG_0101

IMG_0103 IMG_0104

Off to have fun!!

Q. What are your plans for the weekend?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 11, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. no cooking and cleaning, sounds good to me!

    staple at TJs would be any of their dried fruit or nut butter b/c it’s cheap! and jarred condiments like their salsas. And they have great frozen foods (not for the plane though) and coffee. Their fair trade organic coffee is cheap and good!

    WFs, well, girl, bring your wallet 🙂

    xo

  2. oh my gosh! Have so much fun. WFs is great for produce and fresh products. TJs: Tortilla flatbreads, harvest grains blend (its a grain mixture – so amazing), sesame honey cashews, refried black beans, their hummus, no salt added almond butter, their oat bran, I could go on and on!

  3. There are so many great things at Trader Joe’s – brown rice tortillas, harvest bread, pound plus chocolate bars, hummus, roasted chicken breast, masala simmer sauce, peach salsa, chocolate chips, English Breakfast Tea, sunflower seed butter, organic string cheese, I could seriously write 20 more things but I don’t want to overwhelm you!

    Have a great time in Atlanta!

  4. Priyanka- Have a wondeful weekend!! I so know what you’re saying…sometimes it is nice to have no responsibilities for a few days…enjoy every moment!

    I’m with you on Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods – although I feel you can get Most of the same things from Whole Foods at EarthFare – not all. But, I would love love a Trader Joe’s in Knoxville –

    My favorite Trader Joe’s goodies…pumpkin butter, almond butter (any kind-they have so many choices), 5-seed almond bars….hmmmm…those are the staples that I love from TJs…

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Have a great time in Atlanta – sounds like an awesome weekend ahead! At TJs, i like the pretzel thins, salad dressings, nut butters, and pumpkin butters. So good!

  6. Weekends are for veging out and eating cupcakesss! Because that is exactly what I did :)!

  7. Priyanka, next time you’re in Atlanta, we should try to do a mini blogger meetup! I’d love to meet you in person and have some Indian food!

Leave a Reply

