Loving mornings

I am not a morning person. I blame this on  my constant education and genes(my Dad is not a morning person either) From what I can remember, I have always been studying and been surrounded by books. Late nights and last minute cramming sessions have made me a habitual late riser. On days when I am working in the lab I have to be up by 7 a.m. which is ordinary for others but not me. I am groggy and sleepy for about two hours and only at about 10 a.m. I am my normal self.

IMG_0092

This morning I was up early and done making breakfast at 7, the sun was just rising and the air was fresh. Although it was super muggy, I am not going to complain. I watered my plants, the lettuce and the basil. I had two thoughts I could either close the door, sit on the couch and watch the shows I had recorded on my DVR or I could keep the door open, get my breakfast and enjoy a fresh solitary breakfast.I did just that and enjoyed it. I am simply amazed at how simple things like sitting in isolation with my thoughts and food can be so relaxing.

I noticed that my Basil and lettuce have started growing really well.

The lettuce has gone from this

DSC00075

to this,

IMG_0093

And the basil,

 DSC00077 IMG_0094

This reminded me of my vacation mornings as a child. Whenever we went out on vacations, my Mum would grab hold of my brother and me and take us on a walk to appreciate nature. We played with calves and baby sheeps’ ( whom my brother fondly called Yuki), plucked flowers, played in the middle of nowhere with our parents.

I fondly remember those memories and hope to create some with my kids someday. While I enjoyed my breakfast this morning, this is precisely what I felt.

Since food was one of the element of this fantastic morning, let me show you my breakfast. I enjoyed two slices of a local bakery bread that I have been seeing at Earthfare. It is amazing. So I slathered some dark chocolate almond butter on one with some pure maple syrup and a cooked egg with hot sauce on the  other.

IMG_0095
It was one fantastic start to the day.

********

In other news I am feeling 100% better today, of course I missed two days at work. But I am fresh and ready now.

This meant no running today. I was scheduled for my Week 2 Day 2 of C25K today. No worries I’ll do it tomorrow.

********

Q. Are you a morning person?

Q. If you work from home, how do you manage to stay focused? I tried to work when I was home for the past two days. I mean I had no deadlines or any compulsion to work, but I was really bored from not doing anything. However as soon as  I started working I was majorly distracted by blogs. Oh and not to forget the constant kitchen tours I was making…I am happy I’ll be back to the lab tomorrow 🙂

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 16, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Glad you are feeling better! I am not much of a morning person, but workin’ on it. To study at home, I get off the computer, find myself a comfortable spot, and set myself mini goals with breaks in between (ie read X number of pages, X pages of notes, X number of q’s etc).

  2. I’m not really a morning person either, but during the retreat, I had to wake up around 6 am! But there is something refreshing about waking up early before the sun rises…

  3. Oh I have to admit that I’m a HUGE morning person. I thrive off of sunlight.

    The terrible part is that I’m ALSO a HUGE night owl. This inevitably means that I don’t sleep very much. Yes yes, woe is me.

    YOURRRR LETTUCE LOOKS AAMMAAAAAZING!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m growing outdoor plants in containers too! This is my the FIRST TIME EVER and your pots are SUCH AN ENCOURAGEMENT!! If my kale can grow like your lettuce I’ll be one happy camper!!

    xo aletheia

  4. I LOVE the about section on your blog. The hubster and I are definitely trying to be healthier (he is trying harder than I am) and it’s nice to know others are fighting the same fight. Oh, and you have Trader Joe’s in your neck of the woods? We don’t and I’m always a bit sad about that. Oh, and dark chocolate almond butter? That sounds like the best thing ever. Sorry, I promise I’m less random than this (most of the time, anyway) 🙂

  5. Glad you’re feeling better 🙂

    I’m a morning person depending on the sleep I had. A.k.a, I can’t be woken up lol

  6. I am such a morning person! I get most everything done before noon…cooking, cleaning, work, exercise, etc. By about 9 pm I’m ready for bed though, so that isn’t a good thing.

    Working from home was challening initially but I learned to keep the TV off all day, to avoid the kitchen unless it was lunchtime and to not look at my Google reader until lunch. 🙂

    I wish I had a green thumb too!

  7. I am a morning person ALL THE WAY!

  8. Oh, I’m definately NOT a morning person!! I would happily sleep till lunchtime if I could – I love my bed…Always feel groggy if I have to wake up early, and everyone knows not to talk to me for atleast the first hour! Definately more of a night owl 😉

  9. What a wonderful morning! It sounds so relaxing 🙂

    Glad you’re feeling better!! I’m definitely a morning person – I love waking up early and having the whole day ahead of me. When I work at home I tend to work in spurts. Either I get nothing done or I get a lot of motivation and knock out a lot of stuff.

  1. Pingback: My first ever 5K race. «

Leave a Reply

