Vegan & Gluten free cream of tomato soup

DSC00138

I am neither a vegan nor am I gluten free and I love cream of tomato soup. So what am I trying to say here,well I am going to present my version of this classic recipe!

Additionally this recipe is super simple and it will beat Claire Robinson’s five ingredient fix concept. This recipe has only three ingredients. Super simple and super clean.

Without any further chatter here’s the recipe,

V & GF Cream of Tomato Soup

(Serves 4)

Ingredients:

6 Roma tomatoes, skin removed. (I removed mine with a sharp peeler)

1 cup coconut milk. (I used reduced fat)

1 Thai chili/ half a jalapeno deseeded.

Salt and pepper

Directions:

Peel the tomatoes and puree them in a blender with the chili or the jalapeno.

In a sauce pan, add the pureed tomatoes and coconut milk.

Season with salt and pepper.

Let it some to a boil and then simmer for about 7-8 minutes. It will naturally thicken. Adjust the consistency by adding water to your liking.

DSC00141

DSC00142

************

Thank you very much for all your sweet comments on yesterday’s father’s day post.

************

Fitness:

This morning I started the week with yoga. I did 36 mins of Yoga meltdown with Jillian. Jillian knows how to get your heart rate up even when you do Yoga. It was challenging and I was sweating at the end of a yoga workout. The mix of the warriors,planks and sun salutations were intermingled very well. Unlike the other yoga workouts there is no resting in child pose in between. Once you start you sweat for 35 minutes.

Q. Have your tried Jillian’s Yoga meltdown?

Q. If you are a recent vegan or vegetarian, what is one thing you miss from your previous lifestyle?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 21, 2010, in Recipes, Vegan, Workout, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That looks wonderful and simple to make – I can’t wait to try it! I haven’t tried Jillian’s workout but knowing her style, it’d be tough!

  2. The soup looks great! I love using coconut milk to make things creamy

  3. Whoooaaa coconut milk + tomato = BRILLIANCE!!! I can tell already! 🙂 Don’t you LOVE tasty recipes that are so SIMPLE? Ahhh! I love it!

    Don’t do Jillian’s workouts; as for veggie habits, I do miss eating fish… 😦

  4. The soup looks AWESOME! I bet cashew cream would be a great sub for the coconut milk too! I have not tried that yoga video. I’ve been a vegetarian for about a year now. I don’t really miss anything? I on random occasion will crave a hamburger…I think its usually when I’m low on iron!

  5. ummm that looks so good! I cannot wait to try making that… My mouth is seriously watering right now!
    I haven’t tried Jillian’s yoga dvd, but I recently finally did Level 2 of the Shred- man that was intense! So good though.
    And something I miss as I am transitioning to a vegan/more raw diet… paneer! haha. Cheese in general, I guess.

  6. Hey there, thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    This soup looks good! I’ve never been a big fan of cream of tomato soup (overload in childhood) but I reckon the husband would love it! xxx

    P.S. loved reading your story on your about page also. x

  7. Love this soup recipe!! Any recipe with that few ingredients, I love. And I used to hate tomato soup, but now I really love it. You know foods that you used to hate as a kid but now you love? That’s tomato soup for me!

    I can’t stand Jillian Michaels. Ugh. I’m glad you are enjoying her videos though! I refuse to give her, or the Biggest Loser, any money.

  8. Ooh, that soup looks deeelicious! I love the chili and coconut milk in this!

    I would say cheese is a bit of a challenge in a vegan diet. There is a product now called Daiya Vegan Cheese and it has a similar nice, melty texture though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

