Whole wheat short bread biscuits

IMG_0058

As a kid in India, I ate more biscuits then cookies. Biscuits were more of a regular supermarket thing and cookies well that was bought fresh from the bakery by my Mum every Friday. We ate a lot of assorted cookies and they would vanish in  no time. I guess the craze for the cookie was more because it was not as readily available as biscuits were.

Now that there is a cornucopia of cookies around me, I crave my childhood memories aka biscuits. I could kill for some home made biscuits. These short bread “cookies” or biscuits I am showing you are straight from my cooking classes recipe book. Yeah I had taken cooking classes when I was in high school.

As usual I modified the recipe,instead of white flour, I use WW flour. The result nothing short of amazing. The husband and I ate half the batch in the process of taking pictures for this post.

Ingredients:

1.5 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup wheat bran

1 stick (4oz) butter chilled (Margarine to make it vegan)

1/2 cup powdered sugar

4-5 tbsp milk or water to knead the dough

  • First I mixed the dry ingredients i.e. the whole wheat flour, powdered sugar and some wheat bran.
  • To the dry mix, I added 1 stick of chilled butter. The butter has to be cold, so you break it into small pieces and work into the mix with your fingers.
  • Work your way through till the mixture resembles bread crumbs,something like below.

IMG_0053

Once you achieve this, knead the dough on a flat surface sprinkled with some dry flour to prevent the dough from sticking. Knead it till you get some like this,

IMG_0054

Get the rolling pin out and get rolling. Roll till you get it about a 1/4 “ in thickness.

IMG_0055

Now use any cookie cutter you have and get cutting. I used these cutters. My mum used these when we were kids. So this time I stole them when I went to visit my parents. They are a bit damaged, but I’ll do anything to preserve those memories, even if that means eating out of shape cookies 🙂

IMG_0056

I made some round too. All of them going in a 350 F oven.

IMG_0057

13 minutes and the final product.

IMG_0060

IMG_0063 IMG_0064

IMG_0066 IMG_0067

Let me know what you think, if you have made them before and have some tips to share, I’ll be glad to hear ya!

*************

Fitness:

This morning I woke up early..I know can you believe it 😉 Went to the gym did my C25K day4 week2. I was a bit irregular with my gym last week so, I am going to week 2 again. I want to be comfortable with this stage before proceeding to the next level.

I making a point to bring yoga back in my life. Once home from the gym, I did 10 sun salutations and Pranayam for 5 minutes.

Tomorrow is my Yoga day, I am excited. I am actually looking forward to it.

**************

Question:

I am supposed to take something for a potluck lunch on Friday at work.The theme is a picnic menu.Can you give me some good suggestions which will be quick and easy to make? I was thinking black bean and corn salad. What say??

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 23, 2010, in Cookies, Indian, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. the cream of tomato soup looks stellar!

    suggestions for picnic? fresh amazing fruit and veggies and great dips and spreads and breads. nothing too fancy, ppl want variety over complexity in my opinion

  2. I love that you cut the biscuits into shapes!

    I think a black bean & corn salad would def. work. There’s also fruit salad, veggies with dip, or Jello (<– not too healthy, but it's picnic food)!

  3. I love the heart shaped ones! How cute!! I have a cranberry almond couscous salad under my recipe section that is, in my opinion, fabulous. You can easily make it ahead of time since it’s served cold 🙂

  4. thanks for sharing that recipe! I will definitely be baking those! I just need to get wheat bran.
    Picnic food is so fun! The corn salad sounds good- and it’s fun to make tiny sandwiches too! I love cucumber-cream cheese sandwiches! Or chutney and cheese !

  5. Great recipe, and nice job on “healthifying” it!

    My suggestion for the potluck is a pesto pasta salad.

  6. Why don’t you bring some crumpets and tea for the picnic?!

    Just kidding. I’m just kidding. Sorry. I have a bad sense of humour.

    But seriously…you could bring your shortbread biscuits… 😛 Not everyone has to bring a main meal right? Can’t you bring dessert?

    Otherwise, I think the classic picnic staples are sandwiches, crudites, and egg salad!! Or potato salad. 🙂

  7. Yum, I love the addition of wheat bran to the biscuits! I would bring a cold pasta salad – easy and healthy!

  8. Indian biscuits, Maggie (sp?), Indian toast, and ice cream are THE BEST. Your biscuits look delicious and so pretty.

    I think the black bean/tomato salad is a great idea. Throw some corn and avocado in and it’ll be super impressive!

  9. I can’t believe it but I have NEVER made a biscuit!! I know that’s crazy, but it’s true. I really should try this with a wheat-free flour sometime. I never knew biscuits were such a big thing in India. Itneresting.

    Great job getting up early to workout! I’ve been trying to do the same. I have also been trying to include more yoga in my life. So far I’m doing ok, with just 1-2 times per week, which is all I need!

  10. yummyyyy! I love the cookie cutters you used, so sweet.

    I imagine you could use this recipe and make savory zeera biscuits as well?

Leave a Reply

