Appetizer style dinner

After three hours of lab work, a heavy snack on returning from the lab and no inclination to cook something that would take forever to cook, I came up with two great appetizer style dinner ideas. I take no credit for the originality since both are very commonly known and widely eaten with some variation.

I made Wonton bites with Egg roll stuffing and veggie bruschetta.

DSC00292

If you know of better names for these dishes, I am all ears.

The wonton bites were a savory twist to HTP’s Baked wonton cookies and the brushetta was my Mum’s go to snack when we came hungry from school.

Wonton Bites:

DSC00293

The stuffing:

DSC00277

1 cup coleslaw mix

onions chopped

garlic and ginger

Soy sauce

rice vinegar

a dash of chili oil

Wonton shells:

I sprayed a mini muffin pan with cooking spray and placed the wonton is the muffins. Bake them for 7-8 minutes.

Stuff the mix in the shells after cooled down and enjoy!

DSC00278

DSC00287

Veggie Bruschetta:

This is a really simple idea.

DSC00295

Bread drizzled with EVOO. Toast in the oven for 4-5 minutes.

Topping:

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

1 roma tomato chopped,seed removed

1/2 red onion chopped

1 tbsp cilantro chopped

Salt, pepper and garlic powder.

DSC00280

DSC00281

Bake for 10-12 minutes at 350 F.

DSC00294

Q. What was your favorite after school snack as a kid or if you are a parent what do you like to give your kids after school?

My favorite snack was Maggie noodles, they are one of the most common snack kids enjoy. They are an Indian version of the Ramen noodles. So so good. Then these open faced veggie sandwiches and stuffed flat breads called Parathas.

Q. Any major plans for the weekend?

Stay tuned for a giveaway in my next post!!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on July 31, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Both of your appetizers look delicious…not sure why I am hungry at 10:30 pm but either of these would certainly hit the spot!

    I remember Maggie noodles! I used to live on those during my trips to India because everything else gave me a stomach ache. And I loved the vanilla ice cream they have in India…the best ever. Oh, and their toast. Random, I know.

    My favorite after school snack was homemade pound cake with jam. So delicious! And for Maya I usually cut up an apple and give her string cheese to go along with it. She also really likes yogurt. She’ll eat most everything luckily!

  2. Both of those appies look great – what a fun idea for wonton. I loved cookies as my after school snack as a kid.

  3. My mom was a great cookie maker; I can still remember being on the bus wondering what would today’s cookie be. One day I got myself so excited because I was sure it was chocolate cookies (my favourite) and it turned out to be my least favourite Anzac biscuits 😦 I remember being quite sulky about it lol
    Your wonton idea looks great.

  4. Yum! My grandmother used to make us spring rolls and those chinese glutinous rice dumplings. They were so delicious! 🙂

  5. you are just such a good cook! my mouth is watering looking at that fabulous food.
    I totally used to eat Maggie noodles after school too!!

  6. these two recipes look quite good!!! when i was a wee one my babysitter made me spaghettios, grilled cheese, and sweet sweet iced tea. my fave. and my mom would wonder why i was never hungry for dinner…

  7. Ooh! I love the wonton bites most. I’d just call them baked wonton bites, since the filling for wontons and eggroll is similar, anyway.

    I used to snack on two Supersize McD’s french fries every single day after school, with a gallon of ketchup…okay, not a gallon, but a freakton of them! It’s a wonder I wasn’t obese then.

  8. Hmm my fav after school snack was cheese on toast. Come to think of it, it is STILL one of my fav. snacks 🙂

  9. Even though I’m Italian, the won ton bites would be my first choice! I’ve been into cole slaw lately, and the idea of won tons stuffed with coleslaw with some ginger and garlic, just makes my mouth water. The presentation is gorgeous too!

  10. i love all those starters u made..esp the wontons…

  11. I think that I often prefer a tapas-style dinner rather than a huge plate ful of the same thing. It gives me the opportunity to try little tastes of a lot of different foods. All of your appetizers look delicious!! I adore bruschetta and simple to make! xoxo

  12. I know what you mean about coming home from the lab and needing a quick yet delicious meal! Those wonton bites look awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

