Thrifty organization and giveaway winner

Hello bloggies,I hope your week is off to a good start. Mine ,well I have been a bit under the weather since yesterday so I had to take the day off from lab.

This basically meant that all I could do with my fever was to do study..eat..repeat. At about 1 pm out of pure boredom I decided to engage myself into something would be a little different from this cycle.

I decided to tackle my jewelry. It is honestly a mess and I can find nothing when I want it..story of my life. But enough was enough this monster had to be tamed.

I went into the idea of organization with two things in mind:

  1. I wanted to declutter all of the stuff that I don’t wear,is broken or has one of the pair missing.
  2. Organize the jewelry such that it is not in boxes. This is the worst way to store your jewelry if you are ever planning on wear it.

Necklaces,

IMG_0024 IMG_0025 IMG_0026

These two are by far my most favorite.

IMG_0027 IMG_0030

Now I as I mentioned before, I did not want to stuff things back in the boxes again. So I started thinking about ideas for organizing my necklaces. I wish I had a designer to help me organize my house and life.

On second thoughts don’t we all have one,

Hello Google!

image

Isn’t google the best thing to have ever happened to man? I googled some organization ideas and here is what I came up with for my necklaces, earrings and bracelets.

Well that is grandma me in action. FYI, I have better glasses, these grandma glasses are my home ones.

IMG_0028

Necklaces,

IMG_0032

Each individual necklace has been hung on the wire hanger with the help of a safety pin, or simply tied around the hanger. For heavy and chunky ones that did not have a clasp to open’em, I hung them on the key ring which was then hung on the hanger.

IMG_0031

Here is my earring collection. This was a major challenge. I miss out on wearing so many lovely ones since they are either entangled or one out of the pair is missing.

IMG_0034

Again on Yahoo answers I found this great solutions. Now all of these are in my sight and best of all in pairs.

IMG_0035

IMG_0037

The master bedroom closer is entirely mine. People don’t like sharing bathrooms, well I cannot share closet 🙂

This entire corner is my accessories corner.

IMG_0039

Here are my innumerable bracelets and bangles.

IMG_0042

The inner drawers of the organizer contain,

my ethnic necklaces and my every day simple jewelry,

IMG_0043

And my ethnic bangles.

IMG_0044

Well my organization may seem really thrifty but it works for me!

Q. Are you an organizer?

Lastly the CSN store $40 gift certificate winner is,

image

Comment # 2 –> Ameena.

image

See you soon!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in Organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ohhh, I so relate. In May this year we moved house and I had to face the ugly truth that I was (she bows her head in shame) ‘a jewellry horder’. I too came up with equally available organisational tools & have strung up my earrings in a similar fashion. I love it. I agree Google is indeed the answer to all queries – what would we do without it. Hope your feeling better soon.
    Cheers
    Anna

  2. Organization rocks. Whenever I am stressed…if I take like 20 minutes out to clean up and organize an area of my house I feel 100x’s better. Great job!

  3. I am totally an organizational nazi 🙂 You seem to have quite a collection! 🙂

  4. congrats to ameena and i cant believe i missed the give away, darn 🙂 my own fault LOL

    your story about the office phglem rattler. that is so gross and ive worked w/ ppl like that too..it’s like go, take care it, handle it, dont just let it keep happening! LOL

    i am anal, neat and tidy to a fault. anything less drives me insane 🙂

  5. Wow, that all looks awesome! I need to try some of those ideas – one reason why I don’t wear my jewelry too often is it’s all in a box. Hope you feel better soon.

  6. I can’t share my closet or my bathroom so I understand where you are coming from! If I lived closer I would be happy to come over and organize your closet, I thrive on stuff like that. But it looks like you did a fantastic job with your jewelry. Great idea.

    I hope you are feeling better! I write this as I wear my grandma glass, btw. You look 100 times better than I do in glasses, trust me. 🙂

  7. oooh what great storage ideas!!!!

  8. You are so well organised now! I need to do something with all of my jewellery like that. I keep forgetting about pieces as I don’t see them!

  9. Love the organization tips! ANd I love all of your bright colorful jewlery! Makes me realize that I need to add some color via some fun jewelry in my life~

  10. i love being organized but i am sad to say i’m not good at STAYING that way. congrats to ameena!!!

  11. oh wow!! I love all those ideas! I certainly need some organizational skills for some of my clutter, but never even thought to google that! Duh!

  12. I love your jewelry! So colourful- I have a weakness for colourful jewelry 🙂

    I’m an organizer. We’ve spent the last couple of week organising and decluttering our flat, it’s such a relief! x

  13. hey, love the way ur organising ur jewellery 😀 we have jus moved into our new place and there’s loads of organising pending… the earrings especially – i totally get that! i dont know how many single ones i have which hv been rendered useless! and so many that i never find the pair im looking for! im going to give what u hv done a try 🙂

  14. OMG. This is soo great. Love these organization ideas. But I was wondering where you got the case you used to store the ethnic bangles?

Leave a Reply

