And the salad challenge continues!

Greetings!

I hope everyone had a great labor day weekend with fun, quality time with family, R&R and of course catching up on your TO-DO lists. I sure did what I promised lots of R&R. I thought having a short week will make this week fly, well honestly that did not happen for me. After Wednesday life just seemed to be dragging.

So ended my last post declaring September a “Eat a Salad a day month” I am telling ya, I am pumped.

Saturday salad:

A fun Mexican inspired salad.

DSC00528
The layers:
Brown rice seasoned with cumin and chili powder
Spring mix
Tomatoes
Olives
Avocadoes
homemade tortilla chips
Big blob of salsa on top.
DSC00529

This tasted so good! Nothing fancy but just a good use of the leftovers.

Sunday salad:

Carrot and raisin salad,

Basically consisted thinly shaved carrots, raisins, lime juice, salt+pepper, honey and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

DSC00523

DSC00525

I don’t want to tell you about the rest of the dinner because well delicately put, it sucked! But the salad made up for it. The only problem being that the quantity wasn’t enough to fill me up.

Monday salad:
Still did not go for grocery shopping so I improvised and ate a cold soba noodle salad with scallions, sauteed shitake mushrooms and a lovely soy ginger sauce. This was not a salad technically but hey the title says so 😉

DSC00515

DSC00517

DSC00518

DSC00519

So yummy. I topped it with some homemade crispy baked wonton chips!! Crunch..crunch!

Tuesday I went here

IMAG0121

if you could not read it, it is Earthfare. And I  went there with the hope of buying just five items and I came out with this much.

DSC00532
I should not be allowed in stores like Earthfare and Target. It is at moments like these that I thank that there is no TJs or WFs nearby. Let me  retract that statement, that thought never crossed my mind.

I am so happy to finally have nutritional yeast and chia seeds  in my pantry. They are practically seen on all blogs and I have been curious to try them for a long time now but did not since I really don’t want to get sucked into the whole blog hysteria and make a big hole in my pocket. That is probably the reason why I am always late in trying the items that are cool and the in thing that all the “leading” bloggers try and sample.

IMG_0332

But now that I have the nutritional yeast I cannot wait to try Averie’s Cheezy doriotos dip.

I was excited to try chia seeds, I have heard they are a great source of omega 3s for vegetarians ( I am 90% vegetarian)

I sprinkled about just a tsp of chia seeds on my morning breakfast. Maple and oat waffles with banana, chia, flax and maple syrup!

DSC00544 

And I finally got my favorite green, Arugula. Life is good 🙂

Tuesday’s Salad:
Shrimp and Quinoa on a bed of Arugula. This is my favorite go to food. Quick, easy and filling!!

DSC00536

DSC00538

Wednesday’s salad:

Giada inspired California salad,

DSC00234

Grilled Zucchini

Grilled Romaine

Avocado

Broccoli

cherry tomatoes

Radishes

homemade croutons

DSC00235

DSC00236

Thursday’s salad:

Well for supper today, the meal was inspired by Giada and Nigella. I made Giada’s roasted pepper salad (my addition-arugula)

IMG_0330

and

Nigella’s Mexican corn scrambled eggs.

IMG_0329

Phew that was a long post!!

Q. Have you tried Honey bunches of Oats Chia seeds yet?

Q. Tech Question: Smart phone or Regular ole’ basic phone? I have a smart phone,HTC droid. I always wanted an Iphone but due to AT &Ts spotty network I have no inclination to leave my Verizon. I mean a phone is a phone first and an app machine later.

Have a great weekend!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on September 10, 2010, in Breakfast, Challeges, Salads and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. nutrional yeast is pretty good!!! i like sprinkling it on pasta and stuff.. i have tried chia seeds, but im not impressed with them.. i hope you like them!!

  2. I always leave the grocery store with more than I planned to get…

    I’ve tried nutritional yeast – haven’t tried chia seeds, though.

    PS. It’s time for us to make some food insanely popular among bloggers. What food should it be? 😉

  3. Girlfriend 🙂 You are going to be so healthy. I’m very impressed with your salad a day thing. I used to think phones were first a phone & then an app machine…. and then I switched to iPhone. Me & iPhone = Match Made in Heaven. What can I say.

  4. I have never tried nutritional yeast…the name kind of bothers me for some bizarre reason. All of your salads look good…I love adding rice to my salads too!

    I have an iPhone per my husband’s demand. He was embarassed by my relic and made me upgrade. I really like it but AT&T’s service is definitely spotty here too. But there is nothing I can do about it unfortunately!

  5. I can’t believe I’m saying this, bu tI have tried chia seeds yet!! I’m not that into “seeds” unless they are pumpkin seeds, or basically larger seeds. I do ground flax, but only on my oats and in burgers to make them moist. I do need to try them though, simply so I can recommend them to others. The Nutritional Yeast, however, it something I have been doing for a while. I LOVE IT! I add it to my popcorn, and eat it with a spoonful of PB sometimes 🙂 Delicious!

    Love your salad creations, btw, they are very creative.
    Have a lovely weekend!

  6. Great salads! Love salsa on top of my green salads and noodle salads are always fantastic. I haven’t tried the chias yet. Hope you enjoy your new purchases. I have a regular phone but want a smart phone

  7. I am so motivated to do the salad a day challenge! 🙂 when I ate salad everyday for a week, I felt lighter if ya know what I mean. First I need to shop. A salad spinner makes it fun to just buy regular ole lettuce for half the cost.

    Love your salads, now I am craving veggies!

  8. I’m loving your salad a day challenge! I try to have a salad a day too and feel so much better for it.

    Haven’t tried Chia Seeds yet- there’s a bag of them sitting in the bottom of my cupboard but I’m too wimpy to try them. 🙂

  9. Oh! I have heard of Earthfare- is it a store down south? Like Tj’s and WF?

  10. good going girl..i love the mexican one.

  11. Nice job with your salads, they all look so good! The Mexican-inspired salad and the carrot & raisin salad will be replicated in my near future! 😉

  12. Its totally cool that you have managed to toss a different salad everyday! I pack salads for my husband to take to work and every morning i can be seen standing at my kitchen counter racking my brains 😀 so this page of yours is now bookmarked for everyday reference by me 😉
    have never tried chia seeds… dont know if we get them here in India. but i do use flax seeds sometimes – not as often as i would like to!
    and im a very basic phone person coz i keep dropping my mobile at least twice a day (lol!!) so have stayed away from the iphone types. had a sturdy, battered nokia for the longest time and have now shifted to a Micromaxx Bling which is uber sexy and has been dropped only twice in the last 2 months 😀

  13. I wish I had an iPhone…but I also prefer Verizon.

    You’re really rocking out the salad challenge, girl!

  14. I am definitely going to try a few of these as soon as I go back, will probably do a easier version with alternate salad days 😉

Leave a Reply

