November goal achieved!

Happy Friday eve to all! Did this week pass by like wind or what. I have been super busy at the lab that is the probably the reason why this week flew by! Well that is a good thing, I like to be busy 🙂

What was the November goal you ask?

I am a big fan of rice. I am rice eater in a bread eating family. The thing is my family originally hails from the northern part of India, where folks eat wheat in the form of an Indian flat bread (Roti) as a staple food. Rice is a not so common element in north Indian families.

Based on this logic, I was the weird one in the family.Never been a fan of Roti, I ❤ ❤ rice. I mean there is something about this carbalicious stuff that makes my heart sing with joy! It complements all meals and can be a meal in itself like Biryani! I am a white rice addict but honestly it is not very healthy and the amount I consume is definitely not.

For the month of November I decided to give up rice. First few days were rough, I have to admit that. I would reach for the jar of basmati rice and then explain myself “I am going to eat only 1 cup and that won’t hurt right?” or “I have not eating anything bad all day, a little white rice will only give me energy if anything else” Mysterious how the mind works! I did not let these thought be a road block to achieve my goal as a result of which I substituted rice with bulgur or quinoa whenever possible. To my utter astonishment I found that the two work very well. It’s been one month exactly and I am white rice free clap Isn’t that amazing.

This evening when I made a chicken in green curry based on Tanvi’s Cilantro and lime tandoori chicken, I knew what the accompaniment would be. Not rice but quinoa!!! Seriously not missing rice at all 🙂

My dinner,

chicken with quinoa and salad!

DSC00681

And not to forget my breakfast, I was in a hurry this morning since I had to travel to the university which is west from where I live and then travel 30 miles east from the university to get to the lab.

Breakfast was quick and filling. Yogurt sits like a rock in my stomach, I did not think about lunch until 12:30.

DSC00663

In the bowl:

greek yogurt, choco chips, butterscotch chips, unsweetened coconut and almonds!

*******

Workout:

None, I had a rest day!

*******

Today’s question is fitness related,

Yoga or pilates?

I was quite the pilates nut three years back but then that craze wore off. Yoga has always been an on and off thing for me. For the past two weeks, I am becoming quite the yogi. So much so that yesterday I strained my neck while mastering the cobra pose 😉 don’t ask me how, but it just happened. Driving was quite the task due to my limited range of motion.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I think I prefer yoga =) or maybe yogalates? hehe

    Go you for sticking with your goal!!! I gave up milk. I want to give up cheese.. but i dont think i could give it up… id see someone else eating it and attack.

    xoXO

  2. wow an Indian giving up rice thats huge my hubby is Indian, and I love roti

    thanks for visiting my blog Rebecca

  3. Good for you! Its always fun to give up something you sort of lean on, helps you expand your horizons, right? Hmmm hot yoga 🙂

  4. Well done! Quinoa is delicious isn’t it! 😀

  5. This week flew by for me too! And how great you found some other options you enjoy to sub in for rice. Although dont fully give up your love. White rice is okay sometimes too. 😉

    Yoga! Pilates hurts too much. LOL

  6. Congrats on being rice free for a month. Great dedication and perseverance.
    I’m more of a yoga girl than pilates.

  7. Congratulations! I adore quinoa, and have never been a big rice-eater. No one better ever ask me to give up chocolate, though! 😛

  8. Wow… rice free for a whole month when it was your fave thing. Well done girlfriend 🙂 Good thing you’ve found a fab substitute, one that’s good for you. I’m impressed with your discipline. And take care of cobra poses and look after that neck…, sounds painful.

  1. Pingback: 20/20 cure apartment therapy |

Leave a Reply

