TJs Masala Burger: My version

Oh wow it is snowing today! We already have an inch of snow and the showers are not stopping! Wish it were Sunday tomorrow, so I could sit back and enjoy it the snow, but alas that won’t happen. We may have delays but nothing major to result in a holiday!

Today I have a recipe for ya. TJs Masala burger is quite the popular burger in the blog world. It’s vegan, soy free and one burger that is super tasty.

Here I present my version of this master piece.

DSC00349 

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium potatoes boiled and mashed
  • 1 cup of frozen mixed veggies mashed
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs (If you want to make gluten free you can use oats or rice flour)
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • Spices: 1/2 tsp turmeric powder, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp garam masala powder
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/4 tsp sugar

Directions:

  • Mash all the veggies, spices, bread crumbs, lemon juice and seasonings.
  • Form into patties.
  • Cook on a grill or skillet.

DSC00341   DSC00343

   DSC00345 DSC00344

 

DSC00347

 DSC00350 

It may not taste exactly like the TJs version but they were pretty close and damn tasty!

********

No grocery shopping this morning hence the breakfast was plain with yogurt + last nights cookie dough ball + unsweetened coconut+ butterscotch chips.

DSC00712

Dinner: I made some yummy pav bhaji today with salad (Spinach, romaine, carrots, cukes, bread and butter pickle and balsamic vinaigrette)

DSC00718

******

Workout: None..I was supposed to go to the gym today but it was snowing so didn’t  happen 😉

******

Question:

Your favorite breakfast?

Since I really don’t have a particular question in mind, I would love to know your birthday. My birthday is on February 2 and this time I’ll be celebrating it with my family in India..Yay!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 12, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. lol i just wrote up tomorrows post and asked the same question =) love talking breakfast! You’ll get to see my fav if you stop on by tomorrow =) but i’ll give you a hint — it, like all my fav foods, has lots of veggies in it! woot! ❤

    This veggie burger looks so tasty! I vowed not to by processed fake meats ever again… The goal is to make my own veggie burgers and with this recipe… it's totally happening! thanks girl!

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  2. What a yummy post! Loved the simple recipe. I am not a breakfast person however..a bowl of cereal works for me. Even I am going to be celebrating my bday with my family in India this time!Yayyy! I can understand the feeling 🙂
    You into genome sciences? Cool!!

  3. Thats exciting to know your going to India to spend family time, especially around your birthday, lucky you Priyanka 🙂
    My birthday is January 31st although we have a run of birthdays from now to Feb in our family starting with my Mom’s birthday yesterday. Good times. Love this time of year. Enjoy the snow.

  4. Oh wow, I love that your birthday is Feb 2! My brother’s is the 3rd and my dad’s is the 4th. I’m on my way to knowing someone for every day in February 😉

    That burger looks fantastic, and I’m so glad you made up a version, as there’s no TJs in Australia!

  5. WOW- those burgers look perfect! What a great combo!!

    Favorite breakfast- scrambled eggs 🙂

    Birthday: September 2

  6. umm…..HOLY DELICIOUS! those burgers looks fantastic!

  7. Your burgers look fantastic! I’m definitely going to give them a try. My favorite breakfast is anything involving oats! 🙂

  8. Oh I’ve never seen that burger before but your recipe looks amazing! Do you eat it just like a regular burger?

  9. I definitely go through phases with breakfast. Like, I ate Apple Cobbler Overnight Oats for a couple of weeks straight over the summer. And lately, I had been craving egg sammies in the morning for no real reason. Today? A hot oatmeal phase begins.

    Go figure.

  10. Yum! My husband and I love the Trader Joe’s Masala burgers! We’ll have to try your version one of these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

