Curry powder and Alzheimer’s

Before I begin the actual topic of this post, let me say how exhilarated I was to see about two inches of snow this morning and the best part I got the day off. Wahoo!

DSC00720

DSC00725

DSC00728

******

Do you see the Dr. Oz show? I DVR the shows and watch a marathon every Sunday! This week’s episode featured something interesting and I thought it would be fun to share it with y’all!

As per Dr. Ox Oz and statistical reports curry powder is an excellent alternative remedy to prevent the occurrence of Alzheimer’s disease (AD). AD is a largely unknown disease in the Indian population not because of awareness (people are educated about it) but due to the lack of its preponderance among the population and do you know why? It has got to do with the ingredients in the curry powder, the spices to be exact.

As explained by Dr. Kulpreet Chaudhary and Dr. Oz, the spices in the curry powder bolster the immune cells within the body to help fight against the toxins that collect within the central nervous system, the brain to be specific. While Dr. Oz advocated using curry powder in totality, many researchers point to the use of turmeric which is a major ingredient in the curry powder giving it the distinct yellow color, as the active ingredient in the fight against AD.

You can view the video from the Dr. Oz show here, here and here to view some of the treasures of India that can help prevent diseases by acting as anti-inflammatory agents.

As much as I love to maintain the ethnicity of my Indian cooking, I am all about taking short cuts and making my life easier. I cannot for the love of God, work with a mile long ingredient list on a week night to make the perfect recipe. No not going to happen in my kitchen. I have never used curry powder before since I add the individual spices that go on to make the blend into my curry. However just out of curiosity I decided to make my own curry powder and see how that changes/modifies the taste of my dish.

Here is the make your own curry powder blend, as seen on Dr. Oz.

5 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp fenugreek seeds
1 large bay leaf
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp black mustard seeds
1 small (1.5 inch) piece of a cinnamon stick
5 cloves

Untitled

2 tsp turmeric powder (reserve for later)

Directions:

Grind all of the above ingredients, except for the turmeric powder, in a coffee grinder.

DSC00741

Afterwards, add 2 tsp of the turmeric powder. Mix all ingredients together.

 DSC00742

DSC00746

Smelled really good!

Now armed with the curry powder, I decided add to my typical recipe used to make beans like Rajma (red kidney beans), chana masala (chickpeas) and black eyed peas.

Today I used black eyed peas. I am going to post the recipe tomorrow, I promise.

The husband was the blind taste tester, he had no idea what modification I made to the gravy, actually he had no idea I was modifying anything. He may be blunt when it comes to things like hair cut/color but he can be pretty astute when it comes to food. After dinner, this was his comment, “Do what you did to the curry today, it tasted spectacular” All this means we have a winner here.

If you are wondering why the curry tasted different then my usual stuff, well the magic was in the bay leaf, cinnamon, cloves and mustard seeds! I am too lazy to add these to my curry normally.

*********

Workout

Yoga sculpt with Maura Barclay and 85 sit-ups per the 200 sit-ups challenge. My hands are burning and tomorrow my abs will burn!

********

Question:

In a weather like this, what would be your ultimate comfort food? Mine would definitely be a nice chili but if I am going with my Indian taste buds, I would prefer to eat a nice hot Khichdi with a blob of ghee on top…mmmm!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 13, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Thats so interesting. I didn’t know there was a connection to AD & the spices in curry, good to know. Great photos of the lovely snow….. doesn’t snow make everything pristine huh.

  2. Oh wow! I totally believe this — i just wish i had a grinder to make my own batch with! Until that day comes.. I have my handy dandy jar of curry powder and tumeric.

    weird sidenote — my mom read years back that tumeric was great for inflammation and wounds… and she would wrap a pouch of it around my dogs neck while she was going through a pretty rough battle with cancer. it helped… a lot. i’ve been a big believer in the stuff ever since!

  3. My husband had mentioned this connection between AD and turmeric. Anyhoo.. So lucky you get snow there. We have no snow here … but also I hate to shovel so I guess it is a good thing.

    P.S. I will soon do a post on Kohl as you requested.

  4. Oh that’s great to know as I LOVE all those spices! Thanks for sharing!

  5. ooh I would have never thought to make my own curry powder! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. Yay, snow days are so much fun! Making curry powder at home is brilliant! I’m bookmarking! 🙂

  7. I JUST watched this show last night (I DVR all of his shows). I then ran upstairs to my spice cabinet and grabbed my curry and turmeric to start using more often. I can’t do garlic and onion so these two are going to be my new staple ingredients/spices!! I Always worry to death about Alzheimer’s, even though I don’t even have a family history. I think it would just be the worst thing to go through, especially for my family.
    Thanks for sharing the curry recipe again, I didn’t write it down last night but I would love to try making it sometime!

  1. Pingback: 3/20 assignment and a keeper salad |

  2. Pingback: Crispy Curried Chicken! |

  3. Pingback: Chana Masala revisited |

Leave a Reply

