20/20 cure apartment therapy

Hello ladies! Sorry for being out of action yesterday. I was totally beat after the stress and craziness at work yesterday. I came home, ate dinner, and went to sleep right away. Can’t remember when was the last time I went to sleep that early, may be when I was a baby. I am talking 7:30 pm people 🙂

However dinner last night was an Indian feast not prepared by me! We got take out. Since I am off rice, we ordered Malai Kofta and a chicken dish with Samosa from the restaurant and the Quinoa to go along side was prepped at home. I did not even miss the rice!

My plate with a big salad!

DSC00757

Love to eat Indian food that does not involve me in the kitchen 🙂

Breakfast:

IMG_0480

I am on an oatmeal kick right now. Made some with apple sauce, ground flax, cinnamon and brown sugar! Warm breakfast on a cold morning!

********

I joined Sarah in the 20/20 home cure for your apartment assignment.  According to the method illustrated by Maxwell, you do cleaning/organizing/ inspirational assignments for 20 minutes everyday for 20 days for a more happier home.

Monday: For 20 minutes,

  • Clean and vacuum one room
  • dust the furniture and any art work in that room.
  • Clean your butcher block with bee’s wax and linoleum. Don’t have this so did not do it!

Tuesday: Get flowers.

  • Buy flower and arrange them through out the apartment to beautify it. I forgot to bring them on my way home. I’ll do this task when I hit Fresh Marker over the weekend!

Today: Find inspirational photos. This assignment is particularly interesting. It took me back almost 20 years. My Mum maintained a diary when we were little and my parents were young parents. We lived in a rented apartment then, but she would tear out pictures of living room furniture, paintings, wall color, or embroidery and neatly glue and label them so that she had a record of stuff she imagined for her dream home. 5 years later, my Mum and Dad bought a home with four walls and turned into their dream home. Somehow that memory stayed buried deep in my mind for all these years and surfaced today.

In this assignment we are supposed to collect some inspirational photos from the internet, magazines or books that we think will be a part of our future dream home. Great assignment and something I can relate to!

Here are some,

kitchen-cupboard_300

(Real simple)

desiretoinspire_jessicathomas

(Desire to inspire)

Love this entry way foyer. I love colors and designs.

I am so excited about this. This assignment is now going to turn into a habit. I’ll keep searching and collecting. Why didn’t I think of this earlier.

********

Work out:

30 min of Yoga slimdown with Jessie Schein.

*******

Question:

One food that you totally despise? I cannot stomach mayonnaise.

IMG_0474

I thought Vegenaise would be a great substitute for the mayo. But honestly something about the white color and heaviness does not go well with me.

Have you pictured what your future dream home will look like? If you already own a house, did you plan a lot for the interiors?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 15, 2010, in Organization and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Okay, we must be completely on the same wave tonight. Uno: I ate the most delish Indian food.

    Dos: I’ve been dying to find some solid motivation to get our townhouse (which we own) in order. I picked out all of the colors before we moved in and it’s got good “bones,” but it needs that extra push. I love this 20/20 idea!

  2. Oh wow, well done you! I can never go to bed before midnight, even when I”m exhausted. Case in point – I got 5 hours sleep last night, got up at 7am, spent from 8:30-5:30 at a conference, then went straight to the airport, 2hr flight, now it’s 11pm and I still haven’t gone to bed…

  3. Nothing like warm bowls of oatmeal on chilly mornings 🙂 I love the 20/20 idea. And having fresh flowers around always makes me smile (I buy some cheaper ones each week). I am not a mayo fan or a mushroom fan (ick!)

  4. I could use a break in the kitchen and that plate of food is gorgeous — I’m going to try to convince my hubby that we need to go out for Indian tonight! 🙂 I love that inspirational photo assignment for 20/20…that is a gorgeous foyer!

  5. I am so with you on the mayo! I cannot stand it and won’t go near it with a 10 foot pole. Maybe it’s the Indian in us??

  6. Priyanka, thanks for stopping by my blog this morning…can you believe that in 3.5 years of living in Nashville, I’ve not once made it out to Knoxville? Anyway, great to meet you, too, and one thing on your post guarantees I will be coming back here……the ONE food I will not eat is mayonnaise. My stomach turns at the thought of it! Also, the samosa looked sooo good…big fan of Indian food here!

  7. neat to use quinoa in place of rice

  8. We just moved into our new home and it is quite the blank canvas at the moment. I think it will take me quite a few months to decide how to decorate it!

  9. Oh man I need two things now. (your blog helped remind me! hehe)

    1. pot and pan and lid organizers for the cabinets!!!
    2. an indian restaurant close by that I can order yummy takeout from!

    I can def do the first one.. but the second item? hehe i’ll have to move!

    xoXOxo

  10. I didn’t know you were off rice! I went and read that post, because I didn’t understand why, so good for you for giving something up that you KNOW you love! I mean, not tha tI necessary agree, but white rice isn’t so healthy, have you tried switching to loving brown rice? At least it’s a whole grain!

    I think this is such a great idea (the 20/20 thing). Even though I own a house, I still want to do this! I should start with buying a simple bouquet of flowers to beautify the dining room. Right now our decorations are really lacking because we just can’t afford them over the more important things (like getting the vents cleaned!).

    • Gina~ For me the texture and taste of brown rice prevent it from being a good pairing partner for Indian food. Quinoa can replace white rice very easily for me. Not that I don’t like brown 🙂

  11. ah that turqouise entry way is gorgeous!i know i could never get my husband to agree with me on something that bold but i love it.

Leave a Reply

