Are you an ecochick?

I care for the environment and in my own little way I try to live as green as possible so I would consider myself a semi eco-chick!!!

Save paper

Being in science, I have to read a lot of scientific articles. While it is always better to have a hard copy, to preserve paper I have started reading pdfs on my computer. Less paper= save trees!

image 

Additionally we have a recycling program at work, so every week I carry out all our paper junk to get it recycled.

IMG_0494

Clearly things haven’t been cleared out for a while 🙂

Reusable bags

IMG_0487

The reaction to the use of reusable bags differs from store to store. I always feel so positive when I take reusable bags to Earthfare and Kroger. But at walmart, I am not lying to ya, I have not once seen a rep who has not grimaced. I hate going to that store.

Save energy

The most important and the simplest way to be a stylish eco-chick is to switch off the lights when not in a room. Not only saves energy, saves $$ too!

incandescent_bulb

A better choice, use white lights instead of yellow.

sylvania-cfl-bulb 

Reusable bottles

Both the husband and I play our part to reduce the landfill waste by using BPA free reusable water bottles. We prefer refilling our bottles with filtered tap water than the bottled water.

Save water

I’ll admit to this, while brushing and flossing my teeth I let the water run. Really really bad. But I am consciously making an effort to make an improvement here. Additionally except on the weekends we have limited our shower time to 7-10 minutes.

Organic and vegetarian

We are 95% vegetarians. While seafood is my love, the husband gravitates more towards chicken. I strictly buy organic chicken, eggs, milk and cheese. While my veg. shopping is not completely organic yet, I try to buy the dirty dozen organic always.

Eco-friendly cleaners (Our 5/20 assignment )

Replace regular bathroom cleaners with either eco friendly options or use domestic stuff like vinegar and baking soda. I would love to switch to seventh generation completely but I need to finish up my clorox green works products first! To start off, I bought a Seventh generation all purpose cleaner!

IMG_0492

Green works bathroom cleaner, want to replace these.

IMG_0490

Areas of Improvement:

  • Take my own coffee mug to Starbucks.
  • Save water while brushing.
  • Learn about the trash recycling program set up at our apartment to discard things knowledgeably.

While there may be many  more areas of improvement, I think these are good to begin with right?!

Are you an eco-chick? If yes then I would love to know your tips for living green?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 17, 2010, in Eco friendly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great post! I have a P&C Goes green feature I do and this stuff is so darn interesting! I think I do all of these things too so thanks for boosting my eco ego! hehe!

    We’re mostly vegetarian in my house as well (chicken, turkey and seafood is a treat and not part of the daily routine… though i’ve been on an egg binge as you can see from my blog! haha!) and the dirty dozen is something I have been striving to continue — I tell anyone who will listen about the dirty dozen and the clean 15 =)

    glad you’re right there with me =) hooray for making a difference!

    xoXOxo
    jenn

    ps: i totally need to stop running the water while I brush. eep! bad habit!!!

  2. I love that we have some really similar ways of being green! 🙂 When I do print articles for my research, I always do double sided and two pages to a side so that the print ends up being about size 6 😛 Almost no one else can read it, teehee!

    I also refuse to use plastic water bottles and am trying to buy more in bulk to limit packaging… it’s hard though because I have such a tiny kitchen!

  3. You are doing a lot better than I am with buying organic food…it is so tough to see the price difference and buy the more expensive one. But I know it will be better for all of us in the long run! Thanks for setting a good example!

  4. Great tips! I really need to be better at taking my own mugs when going out to coffee too!

  5. I don’t know that I’m an Eco Chick, but I do keep my reusable shopping bags in the car, that way they’re already ready to go!

  6. I am totally an eco-chick…I follow all of the above. The only thing I can add is that I stopped purchasing paper towels and instead use reuseable dish towels. At first my family was pretty annoyed but now they don’t even miss them!

  7. I have so many reusable bags… but I always forget to bring them! I need to keep them in my car…

  1. Pingback: Mindful eating |

Leave a Reply

