Menu planning

My quest this year was to be a more organized person and planner. While the project organization is going on pretty well, menu planning did not get much attention until the month of December. I have seen many bloggers rave about the benefits of menu planning. For the past two weeks I have been doing the same and I thought I should finally talk about it on the blog.

Why I think Meal planning is the way to go?

  • Prevents me from buying stuff I won’t be using that often and also saves money.
  • Prevents waste!
  • Saves me from the impulsive purchases I make mid week when dinner is not planed.
  • I know before hand, what’s for dinner which saves me from the 6 pm frenzy.
  • Adds variety.

I plan the menu with a nice cup of tea on Saturday evening for the following week and go for the grocery shopping on Sunday!

This weeks meals were inspired by these two sources,

DSC00805

Jamie Oliver

and

DSC00806

January issue of Real Simple

So my plan for this week is,

DSC00804

*********

No 20/20 home cure today since it is the weekend!

*********

Workout:

This bear finally got out of her hibernation and decided to go to the gym since it is relatively warmer less colder.

At the gym, 1.47 miles run with upper body strength training!

********

Question:

Are you a meal planner or do you prefer to make impromptu meals? I would love to know your tips and suggestions!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 19, 2010, in Organization, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love planning meals for exactly the same reasons you listed – without it, I end up crabby and too hungry to be sensible about anything at 6pm, and spend a lot more money putting together things at the last minute. My biggest money saving tip is to plan meals that use similar ingredients so that you know where that other half of the pepper is going, besides the garbage!

  2. I actually make an excel sheet where besides writing what I will eat I also mention time of the meal and calorific value of the food it’s a big help in keeping my weight in control

  3. I’m usually not The Meal Planner of The Century, but the past few weeks, I’ve definitely been doing more of it because otherwise food goes to waste. Such is the way of the month of December.

  4. I usually have an idea of what I’m going to make, but I try to let my cravings dictate my meals. I never waste food, so that’s a bonus πŸ™‚

  5. The real simple is on my lap right now! LOL! It was a goodie — some amazing ideas and it got me wicked inspired!

    Hooray menu planning! I’ve been working on this a lot lately too =)

  6. I do plan my meal but I leave the space for flexibility too ‘coz we are out of home and end up being hungry then it would be impractical to assume we would come home and eat.

  7. Everything you say about menu planning is absolutely true and I try to menu plan as much as possible….., especially this time of year just so I know I eat properly and keep the impulse shopping to a min πŸ™‚

  8. I’m a meal planner, but I have no tips as usually I just obsess over what to cook until the day comes around and then just go with it. I’m such a stresshead! πŸ™‚

    Love Jamie Oliver! Hope to get his new book for christmas.

    Hope you have a wonderful christmas xxx

  9. I am definitely a planner! Between my husbands crazy schedule, my work, teaching at the gym and trying to take care of my dog ….I couldn’t get by without it! I determine all my meals and then make my list based off of the ingredients I need to make them. I try to plan throughout the week- usually because I see recipes on others blogs that I just HAVE to try

  10. Nice post, Keep posting more !

  11. I’m a menu planner too! When I plan my meals I like to plan in 1 or 2 leftover days…it’s really nice to get a little break from cooking a couple times a week! πŸ™‚

  12. Generally always impromptu, unless I’m having someone over for dinner. As I usually cook for just me, I’m completely able to just cook on a whim! πŸ˜›

  1. Pingback: Things that made me happy today |

Leave a Reply

