Cheezy headaches and shrimp rancheros

Hello!  Sorry for being out of action for the past two days. I have been experiencing the worst headache for the past couple of days. After evaluating the triggering factor, the clear problem was HAVARTI cheese. It is the tyramine in processed aged cheese which can cause headache for a few people and I clearly belong to that category. Cheese in general does not agree with me, so this was not a huge surprise. I did not want to bog down my posts with this misery so I stayed away from blogging and commenting.

*****

Some lessons that I learned after meal planning for a week and some of the wisdom you guys passed on the post the other day,

  1. It is important to keep days for leftovers. When you plan stuff, you have a lot of leftovers.
  2. Keep recipes that will have ingredients overlapping.
  3. Don’t forget to put essentials like milk, eggs and bread on the grocery list. Just because they are not an ingredient of the meal plan, does not mean you don’t need them πŸ˜‰

******

Since I found some great shrimps on sale at the store I decided to change my Wednesday plan.

On the menu today, Shrimp Rancheros, inspired by a not so great Mexican restaurant here in Knoxville. The only thing I loved on their menu was this and today I recreated it at home. Oh how I love this recipe, perfect with beans and rice! I though it was spot on!

DSC00832

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb shrimps
  • 1 bottle of Salsa verde
  • 2 small cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup chopped jalapenos
  • 1/2 of a red onion sliced
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

  • In a bowl mix the salsa, onion, garlic, jalapenos and season.
  • Mix the shrimps in and cook it in a skillet for about 5-6 minutes or until the shrimps are cooked.
  • Top with cilantro

DSC00834

How easy is that!

Other eats:

Breakfast: Egg white omelet with stuffed mushrooms and peppers

DSC00822 

******

Workout: 12-22-10

Yoga with Bethenney

*****

Yay my long weekend begins!

Are you a cheese lover?

Off to do some blog reading!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 22, 2010, in Recipes, Seafood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear that cheese gave you a headache 😦 I LOVE cheese, but it kinds of makes me feel like death, so I’m trying to cut back!

  2. yum shrimp! Ive been craving these little guys lately… might be time to play around with some in the kitchen. poor shrimps… they belong in my belly πŸ˜‰

    glad you’re feeling better! im sensitive to EVERYTHING esp. MSG and additives so I hear ya on that! xo

  3. Oh, you poor thing! Definitely deserve kudos for cooking nourishing foods for yourself through the pain, though. πŸ™‚

  4. I am definitely a cheese lover but my stomach can’t handle it. My whole body freaks out when I eat it – including my face! Oh to be away from the one you love…

  5. Cheese does not agree with me either, despite the fact that I love it! It makes my stomach hurt and my skin breaks out, anyway, I can relate!

    Hope you are feeling better and Happy Holidays!!

  6. I think cheese has it’s place and I can’t just put it on anything, but I do loooove a good cheese!

  7. I had no idea that there was a chemical in processed cheeses that could cause headaches like that. SO good to know because I’m a bit of a cheese fiend.

    I definitely agree with your rules for meal planning. I always feel like the end of the week ends up being a last-minute scamper for odds n’ ends for us!

Leave a Reply

