Crispy Curried Chicken!

Merry Christmas friends! I hope y’all had a wonderful time with family and got a visit from Santa with your gifts.

I have a recipe  for y’all today. It was just a last minute use of a few ingredients and the end product was nothing short of tasty and amazing! I had some chicken tenderloins staring back at me, waiting to be used and a very hungry husband. This recipe took me 15 minutes tops to prepare. The crispiness comes from my new love, Panko.

Crispy Curried Chicken:

DSC00877

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb chicken tenderloins
  • 2 T homemade curry powder (or store bought)
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • Salt and pepper (Very Important, I forgot to season ;~P)

Directions:

In two separate bowls, add whisked egg to one and the curry powder and panko to the other.

Take the chicken and wash it in the egg wash first followed by dredging it in the curry powder and panko mix.

Transfer to  a skillet with 1 T EVOO. Let cook for about 7 minutes each side, or until no longer raw.

I served the chicken alongside a nice big salad.

DSC00876

I am not that crazy about chicken so I tasted the chicken from the husbands plate and loved the crispiness. I am going to try and replicate it with some tofu!

I ate a “Hot Dog in a Salad” salad which contained,

  • Organic baby spring mix
  • dill spears chopped
  • 1 gala apple sliced
  • Yves veggie good dogs
  • Dressing: Mustard, ketchup and EVOO (<3 ketchup)

DSC00880

*******

On Hannah’s request here are the recipes for the GF, Raw Energy balls that I made yesterday,

Version 1:

DSC00836

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used chocolate flavored)
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened coconut.
  • 1.5 tsp Maple syrup

Just mix all of the ingredients and roll to form whatever shape that fancies you!

Version 2:

DSC00853

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp peanut butter
  • 4 tbsp unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp egg mixed in about 1 tbsp water and whisked
  • choco chips to top

Directions. Mix all the above ingredients and don’t add water or else the ingredients will be too difficult to handle. Even with the above measurements they won’t retain their shape so it is best to set them in the refrigerator to chill!

*******

Workout: REST

*******

Other stuff: I finally finished Julie Buxbaum’s  After you. A very touching novel and highly recommended. Thank you Ameena for the recommendation. You can find her review on this book here.

IMG_0448

It just started snowing in here, looks like we got a white Christmas after all!

*******

Question:

Ketchup on hot dog, Yay or Nay! I may be categorized an outcast here but I love ketchup and not just any ketchup the one made by Maggi (an Indian brand).

Have a good night y’all, see ya tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 26, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much, my dear! As Australia is lacking in any protein powders that aren’t awful body-builder-taste-bad-but-bulk-men-up-regardless, I think I’ll be trying the peanut butter one first. But as if it’s a surprise that I go for the pb one!! 😛

    Merry Christmas!!

  2. I am a HUGE fan of ketchup! I haven’t ever used it in salad dressing, but now I might have to! 🙂

  3. I’m so glad you liked the book Priyanka! It was certainly a fantastic and touching read.

    I think my husband would go crazy for this chicken. His mom used to do something similar although I never asked her for the recipe…maybe I’ll surprise him if I’m feeling generous. LOL

  4. I don’t mind ketchup on hot dogs (well, tofu pups for me!) but I prefer mustard.

  5. Ahhhh so much to say! hehe

    The chicken looks amazing! I want to make homemade curry powder sooooo flipping bad! I get intimidated by ingredients and gadgets… so i’d have to buy a lot of stuff to make it — is a coffee grinder expensive?

    I got snow too!!! I used to live in FL so this is my first snow in my new state! its awesome.. i play in it every few hours. it’s like i’m a 5 year old =)

    For sure YES YES YES ketchup! always! I heard heinz came out with an all natural ketchup? yours sounds good too! does it have the standard ingredients or anything extra thrown into the mix?

    ok now that i’ve commented a small novel — i’m off to make more snowballs and chuck them at my husband who is vegging on the couch =) hehe

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  6. When I was younger I LOVED ketchup on hot dogs, now I’m more of a mustard and relish person? I always think about salads that are modeled after a favorite dish/sandwich/etc. and when it comes time to actually make one I promptly forget EVERYTHING. Go figure.

  7. Oh yum. I could go this chicken Pryanka, it looks great 🙂

  1. Pingback: December challenge review |

Leave a Reply

