Killer salad and on my bookshelf

Giveaway alert: Did you check out my CSN store giveaway? A $35 gift card can be yours. Contest is open until December, 31st.
***********
In the kitchen:

DSC00913
Killer salad: I have started getting really creative with my Eat a Salad a day in the month of December challenge. This salad was killer, I loved the contrasting flavors, a little bit of sweet and a little bit of tang.

Apple and Dog Salad:

DSC00916
Ingredients:

  • 3 veggie dogs links sauted in a skillet with cooking spray
  • Baby spring mix
  • 1 gala  apple chopped
  • mushrooms sauted in the same pan after the veggie dogs
  • leftover roasted cauliflower
  • Dressing: low fat yogurt, ketchup (I am obsessed), salt and pepper

Ah-mazing salad. I never knew I could be so creative with salad. Now if I  only some creativity with my breakfasts. I just eat the same old same old each day. Although I must admit that I have left the habit of skipping breakfast, if I don’t have the time to eat a good breakfast, I whip up a smoothie or just pack some yogurt with choco chips and eat an early lunch. But I have not let myself go hungry for the last 20 days or so!!!

***********

On my bookshelf:

Kathryn Stockett’s The Help!

DSC00920

Jodi Picoult’s

The Pact

DSC00921

and My Sister’s keeper

DSC00918

************
Workout:
12.27.10: 1.5 mile run with a few walking breaks and 10 minutes on the stationary bike.

12.28.10: A bad attempt at Yoga sculpt in the morning. I ended up in childs pose most of the times. My muscles were very stiff this morning.
*********

Question:

Have you read any of the aforementioned books?

What are your plans for the new year. Are you going out, having fun? We have no plans yet!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 28, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing for New Years. My boyfriend has to work a graveyard shift that night, which totally sucks!

  2. Wow, that salad looks so good!

  3. I’ve never read any Jodi Picoult! Or had hot dogs in my salad… both I think I should start, though!

  4. I haven’t read either! I keep seeing people reading The Help but never picked it up to read the back or find out what it’s about. I need to google it.

    I ordered “Water for Elephants” though b/c I was suuuper intrigued when a friend started raving about it!

    and OMG what a unique salad!!!! ketchup yogurt dressing on a veggie dog salad… woah! so creative

  5. I’m seriously admiring you with your salads and workouts…, I’m seriously going to make a big effort with healthy eating in the NY.
    I haven’t read any of these books…, although I’m sure I’ve got a buddy who has recommenced My Sisters Keeper…, is it good?
    NYE plans….. I’m so excited….., I’m currently on a fabulous road trip with my guy…, we’re working our way through a wine district of Sth East Australia…. having a blast…, we’re heading to Melbourne for NYE & meeting up with my bro & his girlfriend at Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen.. Cannot wait, but having a blast on our holidays.
    Have a ripper of a day girlfriend 🙂

  6. Hot dogs in a salad?! Love it!
    Nope, no fun new years plans, yet. We may just do a nice dinner and then have people over here for drinks and games. Who knows!! Happy new year to you 🙂

  7. Wow, that salad looks amazing! I love love love fresh fruit in my salads!

    I haven’t read any of those books, but I’d really like to read My Sister’s Keeper before I watch the movie. The book is ALWAYS better you know…I like to read the book first so it doesn’t ruin it for me!

    I’m going out on the town on New Year’s for the first time! A friend of mine and I got invited to a little shindig and I’m super excited!

  8. I’ve read almost all of Jodi Picoult’s books except “My Sister’s Keeper” because I think I wanna watch the movie first.

    Hee hee, I put ketchup on basically everything, too.

  9. That salad looks great! I never would have thought of that combo but I bet it really works…love the apple in there!

  10. I’ve got The Help on hold at the library. I’m finally 3 out of 1100 on the waiting list so I can’t wait to come home from vacation and read!

  11. lol i had to check back to make sure my comments were posting! i dont know why the internet messes with me so! ❤

  12. I have read all 3 of these books and loved them all. I have to say though that The Help is a tad bit overrated…

  1. Pingback: December challenge review |

Leave a Reply

