b’fast rellenos!

Alert: My $35 CSN giveaway!

Yesterday I mentioned how boring I was being with my breakfast and today I got the reason to enjoy itt. I was reading Gina’s blog per usual and stumbled upon her breakfast rellenos. Now I am a savory girl by taste. Sweet is fine but between the two I would select savory foods if I were hungry. There is only so much you can do with oatmeal (I know topping are unlimited) but lets face it who are we kidding. It would be enough if I’d get my daily breakfast in my stomach let alone think about the fancy decorations. No offense to people who decorate their breakfasts!

DSC00922

The b’fast rellenos was something right up my alley, the only problem I had no poblano peppers. So what’s a girl gotta do, well work with what she has! I had a bag of green bell pepper calling my name. I used them in the recipe just like poblanos and voila the final product was nothing short of amazing!

I had two halves waiting to be dug into until the husband arrived ogling at one half. I tried to talk him out of it, like by saying that his sunny side up would be ready in a jiffy and he does not have to compromise on his regular breakfast. It is after all boring his favorite! But no the man was determined to dig into the second half, so after some deep thinking I decided to forgo one half of this yummy breakfast creation to the man I love. And that my friends is what marriage is all about!

DSC00923

peppers with egg whites, a tad bit of cheese, salsa and green onions. Don’t be surprised if you see this making appearances on the blog regularly!

*******

In other news, remember when I posted about my favorite kitchen appliances. Well one of them died a sudden death and it was my immersion blender. I cannot live without it, so I ordered a new one. Braun, my favorite, when it comes to immersion blender has stopped making the model so I had to settle with Cuisinart! Look quite good with the stainless steel look and all, hope it is just as durable!

DSC00925 DSC00926

What did I eat for dinner, a smoothie of course,

 DSC00930

In the mix,

  • yogurt
  • mixed berries
  • almond butter
  • maple syrup

DSC00929

Yumm!!

********

Workout:

25 minutes of 1.5 mile run and lower body weights!

*******

Question:

Sweet or savory, which one do you prefer?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 29, 2010, in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. gina (fitnessista)

    so glad you liked them! excellent idea to use the bell pepper 🙂

  2. Good for you for not delaying in getting a new immersion blender! Those things are fantastic 🙂 Yummy breakfast, for sure, even though I tend to stick with my sweet oatmeal 🙂

  3. Smoothie perfection you’ve got going on! 😀

  4. now thats what you call a Breakfast thanks for the link 🙂 for the cocktail 🙂

  5. is a pepper “bowl” not the best little vessel for delivering yummy food to our faces? hehe! I like making a broccoli slaw salad inside a raw green pepper and they are so yummy cooked and stuffed like your super cute breakfast pepper! yum yum!

  6. No question about it… I definitely prefer sweets!

  7. ooh what a great breakfast!

  8. Yum! That looks delicious! I prefer savory! 🙂

  9. Yummy, sounds wonderful too. Definatly a savoury gal 🙂 Lovin’ your new immersion blender… could not live without mine either, the new stainless steel look is awfully spiffy isn’t it 🙂

  10. That is definitely a fantastic looking breakfast! Wishing you a very happy, healthy, and prosperous New Year!

Leave a Reply

