Taco seasoned garbanzo bean burgers

Thank you all for the positive comments about my new years resolution post! There are a couple of other intentions that I aim to work on and I’ll let you know about them when time allows!

I am enjoying an extended time off. Due to some major confusions in paper work, my access to my lab has been  postponed so I get Monday and Tuesday off.

*******

Today I was craving Mexican like crazy and I knew I had to incorporate it in some form. So Taco seasoned bean burgers were born.

Taco Seasoning:

(Inspired by Cassie)

  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp salt

IMG_0535

Armed with the homemade taco seasoning, here are my garbanzo bean burgers.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 4 scallions
  • 2 tsp taco seasoning
  • 1.5 tsp sriracha

IMG_0538

Mash the beans and add all the ingredients together.

IMG_0539 

Form into patties and grill/saute or bake.

IMG_0542

Instead of going for a burger, I transformed it into a salad!

IMG_0550

The salad contained,

  • Baby spring mix tossed in a little balsamic vinegar
  • cherry tomatoes
  • burger
  • topped with
    • greek yogurt
    • tiny bit of feta
    • salsa
  • crushed baked tortilla chips

IMG_0548

I am becoming so much better at including salad with every meal, I think my salad challenge was a success. I don’t even have to think about how to include a salad in my meal, it comes very naturally. If I don’t have anything to mix anything into the salad, I just toss the greens with the balsamic vinegar. 

******

Breakfast this morning was exciting. With so many apples lying around in our apartment, I decided to incorporate it into breakfast. In the bowl,

DSC00961

  • Oatmeal
  • sprinkling of brown sugar
  • Apples cooked in maple syrup and cinnamon
  • chocolate chips (I cannot eat oatmeal without strewing choco chips on top)

Left me full!

*******

Workout: 01.03.11

20 minutes stationary bike

lower body weights and abs!

*******

Reality TV fan yes or no? I am a fan of reality shows,keeping up with Kardashians, real housewives, Bethenney etc. I am liking the real housewives of Beverly hills. Does any one watch that one?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Breakfast, Salads, Workout and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Oh-ho, I want those burgers, yes indeedy I do! Love taco seasoning! (And good Mexican is all but impossible to come across here in Australia…)

  2. thats so cool that you went to the market with your mum to get veg love your bean burgers

  3. Well that answers a question I had in my head about what chickpea burgers would look like! I should make some. 🙂

  4. going to make these tom 🙂
    thanks for the recipe

  5. Those burgers looks so good!

    I love reality TV! haha–guilty pleasure! My favorite is Real Housewives of Orange County! Can’t wait til it starts again! 🙂

    Enjoy your last day off!

  6. BOOKMARKED!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Last night I tried reading this from my email.. sans pictures. and I swear I could almost picture this burger — it lived up to my expectations =) Can’t wait to make it!

  7. Oh, the sound of that breakfast is perfect. Love the combo. And I’m a fan of trashy reality TV too. I like my TV to be the most mindless possible.

  8. Those burgers look incredible! Love how you turned your burger into a salad…I bet that salad would be fantastic with a little salsa on top! Oooh, I’m craving Mexican now. 😉

  9. I am kinda reality tv-neutral. I could take it or leave it. There’s nothing that I’m just dying to watch, but if a little 6 & pregnant is on, or sometimes Giuliana & Bill, I’ll leave it on while I’m doing other stuff around the house & kinda intermittently watch ; )

  10. I don’t love reality TV, but I do get sucked into those damn MTV reality shows! I do love this recipe, though 🙂

  11. Taco burgers sound great, especially in a salad! I have a bit of greens addiction (which I guess is no bad thing) so I love having a salad with every meal. I will often do the same as you and just have a simple salad of greens and dressing. Yum!

    Around this time last year, I cut my cable since I was maybe only watching 1 or 2 shows a week. Whenever I do watch tv, I’m more into regular shows (big fan of Glee and Dexter) than the reality types. I’m not really into the drama that most reality shows portray.

  12. Now that really looks wonderful, yum!

  1. Pingback: December challenge review |

Leave a Reply

