Soba noodle chow mein

Still calling in for those guest posts, if you want to do the blogger questionnaire leave me a comment on this post and I’ll email it to you, so we can have it on this blog when I am on my vacation.

Moving on,

I love Chinese, I mean I really love it! I fail to understand how can restaurant made Chinese food taste so good, may be it is the crappy sauces laden with sodium that they use. But the homemade version never tastes just the same. Today I was in the mood for Chinese but did not want to eat any thing that was full of fat and sodium, so I decided to make some at home. Now right at the start I knew I’ll be mentally soothed that I ate Chinese but those taste buds would still want the restaurant version, but this chow mein hit the spot. I cleaned my noodle bowl and since I am a pig, I cleaned the skillet in which I cooked the chow mein too 😉

Soba noodle Chow mein

DSC00965

Ingredients:

  • 2 bunches of whole wheat soba noodles
  • 4 scallions greens and white chopped
  • 3 stalks of celery chopped
  • 1 green pepper chopped
  • 2 baby bokchoys chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp chopped ginger
  • 1/2 tbsp chopped garlic
  • 1.5 tbsp organic tamari
  • 1 tsp sriracha
  • 1/4 tsp chili oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp canola oil

Directions:

  • Heat the canola oil and let it get really hot.  Add the ginger and garlic.
  • Next add the celery, scallions, peppers and the bokchoy.
  • Let cook for no more then 1 minute
  • Next add the tamari, sriracha, chili oil and salt+pepper.
  • Finally the cooked soba noodles.

DSC00966

Loved it and it is husband approved!

**

Workout: A bit under the weather,so I did 20 minutes of yoga from yoga download

**

How would you describe your Saturday? Busy and full of planning or a bit laid back?

I keep my Saturdays’ a bit open, its the day I keep for vegging out, catching up on the DVRed shows and planning for the week.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 8, 2011, in I love Chinese. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love that you tagged this post “I love Chinese” because that’s exactly what I was thinking when I was looking at the pictures & reading the recipe! I swear I have to have Chinese at least every other week or else I go through withdrawal : )

  2. Love the idea of using soba in other cuisines than just Japanese! Wonderful!

  3. This looks great! I actually prefer homemade Chinese over take-out. Maybe because I hate the way my body feels completely swollen the day after a trip to a Chinese restaurant. You just reminded me that I really want to try bok choy! I’m going to have to make this!

  4. my saturday is laiiddd back! i bought a food processor-hah! love this chow mein!!

  5. Saturdays are usually a blend for me. I workout in the morning, and then try to schedule my appointments for right after that way I can relax until evening when usually I have plans with my man and our friends. The balance is key.

  6. I am constantly trying out Chinese recipes hoping to come close to the restaurant version but I can never get it right. Your recipe looks really good and I’ll have to try it out.

    This is the closest recipe I’ve found for restaurant style Chinese- http://vegalchemist.blogspot.com/2009/03/broccoli-and-tofu-with-brown-sauce.html

    Often I will just use their sauce recipe and put it over whatever vegetables I have on hand then put it over rice and it’s actually very good!

  7. My favorite Saturdays are laid back. I love to catch up on my DVR on the weekends too 🙂

  8. I know what you mean, when the ‘I want Chinese’ bug hits its great to put together something that totally satisfies at home, this looks yummy 🙂

  9. What a great way to use soba noodles!!

  10. ow! I love homemade chinese. I make a beef and broccoli that Josh loves. Most of my Saturdays are pretty productive. I usually spend the first half of the day working out & cleaning and the second half relaxing. This weekend was a bit different with Josh’s family in town

  1. Pingback: Super motivated or a big fool? |

Leave a Reply

