Know your blogger: Anna

Name:

Anna Johnston


Married or single?

I’ve got me a Mr.

What do you do for a living?

I am a chef by trade & after almost a decade in the kitchen & a bit of study, I packed away my cheffies & followed the sweet lure of Hotel & Event Management. I am currently ‘working’ for one of Australia’s Top 10 clubs, so exclusive that I’m not allowed to name it, the club caters to the rich & powerful here in our nations capital, Canberra, Australia. As well as marketing products & services for my business The Hospitality Guru. I am a Event Planner & offer consultation for recipe development, food styling, theme design, and wedding & event planning on a global level, I am happy to plan the entire event for you either virtually or on location.

Why did you start blogging?

I started out blogging almost by accident when a lot of my apprentice chefs suffered from the wise, wonderful & political decisions to cut a Chefs ‘apprenticeship’ period in half here in Australia, in an effort to meet the skill demand in our industry. I started to share online a lot of my own training notes & made a few videos for my guys to help them with their techniques & terminology.

Too many really bright & enthusiastic young Chefs were getting browned off & were loosing their enthusiasm because even though they’d studied hard & did their best, they simply didn’t have enough technical information, or a understanding of how commercial kitchens operated & they needed help. And thus, The Hospitality Guru was born.

How long have you been blogging?

I have been blogging since the 24th April 2010 and loving every minute of it, it’s a fantastic way to meet fabulous like-minded people from all over the globe.

Workout of choice:

Ummmm…. I don’t much care for working out, but one of my 2011 goals is to do Zumba. In fact, I just ordered the Zumba DVD’s, they should arrive in the next few days, I’ll be turning my lounge room into a fitness centre each morning.

Breakfast that makes your day right:

2 soft boiled eggs with soldiers for dipping and a giant sweetened cup of English Breakfast Tea

Ice cream or Fro-Yo:

Ice-Cream! Cookies n Cream OR Oreo w/ Chocolate topping OR Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough.

Food you don’t mind indulging once in a while:

I’m a foodie gal, my motto is ‘food is to be enjoyed & indulged’.

In case of a food emergency, which fast food joint would you go to?

Zambrero’s – Fresh Mexican Food. Happiness in a soft tortilla!

Dream vacation destination

Italy, I am dying to do a food & wine tour of Italy, ride bicycles through the beautiful rolling hills, scoot through adorable villages precariously nested on the rugged cliffs of the Italian Riviera, visit vineyards, taste olive oils, hunt for truffles, eat with gusto and dine on traditional Italian fair – Paparo alla Melarancia, Fungi Trifolati, Spaghetti alla Puttanesca, Pesce all’ Acqua Pazza to name a few at hidden Trattorias, stroll through the ruins of ancient worlds gone by, toss a coin in the Trevi Fountain & learn the secrets of vinification. Basically eat, taste & delight my way around Italy.

Stress relieving secret:

A few drops of essential oils to the wrists – Ylang Ylang, Lavender or Rosemary. Although, a nice cup of Chamomile tea works a treat too!

Favorite TV show of all time:

Gilmore Girls – My mom and I have the entire series on DVD and at some point every year we settle in for a GG marathon.

Are you a spender or saver?

I’m a saver to spend!

If you had a million dollars, how would you spend it?

Buy my dream apartment overlooking water & maybe have me that dream Italian holiday. But seriously, I could make that million dollars go a LONG way.

What was the last thing you ate?


A Mango & Kiwifruit Smoothie – Mango, Kiwifruit, half a cup of plain yogurt, Milk & Ice + some protein powder to fill me up!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yay Anna! Yay Canberra! Loved reading this post, and that smoothie looks amazing! My mum and I also like to watch GG (and other whows) start to finish. We’re currently doing The West Wing. Chocolate is always involved!

  2. It’s so nice to learn more about you Anna! You are one of my favorite bloggers because of your passion for what you do. Thank you for sharing such wonderful details with us!

  3. Nice to meet you Anna! I would LOVE to go to Italy and do the same thing, tasting dishes and sipping wine!

  4. What a fun lil’ interview! That sounds like a dream vacation indeed! I love Gilmore Girls too.. except I have little mini marathons of it all year long :]

  5. Very nice to see you featured here, Anna! I’ve been wanting to give Zumba a try too…it seems like so much fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

