Green tea for skin

People say that life starts going downhill once you hit 30, while I really don’t believe it, one thing I am taking extreme caution with is my skin. Thankfully I am genetically blessed with  good skin. My mum at 49 has no wrinkles! Mainly because she is big time into yoga, uses natural remedies to keep her skin looking fresh and her genes are strong too. Since I am just two years away from the big   3-0, I think it is to be more wary about my skin. Last time, I posted about some of the changes I will be bringing in my lifestyle to which my skin responds really well.

So green smoothies are back in my life, had one for breakfast.This mix contained (spinach, ovaltine {my childhood favorite}, cherries, banana, chia seeds and water)

Salad a day with leftovers from yesterday for dinner.

Green tea. Yes I am eating the frog on this one but growing into it! Green tea tastes like algae when you first try it, but I think after that you tend to get over the taste. I read a few articles on the Internet and these are some of the reasons you should incorporate algae water aka green tea into your diet,

  • Protects from sun damage and hence reduces the chances of skin cancer.
  • When applied directly to the skin, acts as a natural toner. For this you can freeze freshly brewed green tea into ice cubes and when doing your skin cleansing routine, you can thaw out the cube and apply on the face.
  • The antioxidants and anti-inflammatory properties in  green tea can be helpful in fighting skin aging.
  • Acts as a natural alternative to benozyl peroxide to treat acne.

These are just some of the healing properties of green tea, of course the fact that it helps in keeping your heart healthy does not hurt!

Here is how I make my green tea mask. I use it once a week and since I have a combination-oily skin, I use sandalwood powder. If you have dry skin, do not use sandalwood powder, it will further dry it up. In that case you can use oatmeal (recipe follows)

For oily skin:


*1 tbsp sandalwood powder

*strongly brewed green tea, use just the amount to make a paste with the fullers’ earth.

*Turmeric (has antiseptic properties)

For combination, dry skin:

*Oats

*Strongly brewed green tea

*Turmeric

Add the oats when the tea is still hot so that it can soften up.

Mix to form a paste and let it sit for about 5-10 minutes. Apply and wash after 15 minutes.*

For the 15 minutes it is drying up make goofy expressions.

The verdict: Honestly, immediately after washing, my husband commented that my skin looked fresh and soft on touch! I would say that is successs!!!

*I am writing about these natural remedies purely based on my own experiences. If you have sensitive skin, try them on a small patch of skin on the forearm. If you feel any irritation, wash it off immediately.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on February 23, 2011, in Beauty, Self Improvement, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. but can’t I just get botox?!

    I have very fair skin and try to look after it as best I can by mainly staying out of the sun. I’m definitely going to try the mask for combination skin – thanks for posting!

  2. I’m fascinated by this – I drink green tea every day, but have never been quite brave enough to fashion it into a mask or put tea bags over my eyes to diffuse puffiness. Thank you for sharing your “blend!”

  3. I never would have thought to put turmeric into a face mask. I have super sensitive skin so I’m also afraid of trying new things. Maybe someday I’ll get up the courage.

  4. boooookmarking this! tumeric in a “mask” is genius! I’m super excited to try this! I’m the same age as you and have been going nutso trying to make my skin ageless! ❤

    xo

  5. Ovaltine! I put milo in my smoothies. And now I want to put green tea in my smoothies!

  6. Hahahaha I love your facial expression with the mask on! 😀

  7. Haha, I love your face in the last picture!

  8. thank u for sharing! nothing can beat the natural remedies n i sure need to use some. love the goofy expressions lol

  9. Turmeric is also good for acne. My aunt told me to take a little less than a teaspoon and mix with seseme oil to form a paste. You’re supposed to dab the mixture on your zits and keep it on overnight. I’ve yet to try this since I have VERY sensitive skin, but it’s natural so it can’t hurt!

  10. haha, love your face – that’s too funny! I totally need to take better care of my skin! I’m so lazy with lotions and creams and what not and I’ve definitely been noticing increasing wrinkles over the last few years…..I need to do more yoga : )

  11. yummm, Ovaltine! I love it…and I love Bournvita too haha.
    What a nice compliment from your husband! I must try the facial 🙂

  12. Oh wow! I didn’t realize that green tea had so many other benefits! I drink it occasionally, but I think I may incorporate it more now! Can’t wait to try that mask…and yes, goofy facial expressions are a must!

Leave a Reply

