Race plans

Hey friends, I have something interesting to share with y’all. I am planning to run my first 5k this May!

I am so excited, but I am saying planning ‘cuz based on how well I do with my training for the first three weeks, I’ll sign up for the race (deadline is April 8). But I am really looking forward to this challenge.

I have tried taking running seriously for a while now and I know only a very focused goal will help me in taking the leap of seriousness.

My plan is to run on alternate days, Tuesday-Thursday and Saturday. Since I have been a long time novice runner, I am going to making a fresh start again by doing a modified version of the C25K program.

Week Walk (mins) Run (mins)
1 3 2 March 10-19
2 2 3 March 20-26
3 Catch up March 27-Apr 2
4 1.5 3.5 Apr 3-Apr 9
5 1 4 Apr 10-Apr 16
6 0.5 4.5 Apr 17-Apr23
7 Run for 30 minutes Apr 24-Apr 30
8 May 1- May 7

I want to be running comfortably for 30 minutes by week 7. Speed is not the parameter right now, all that matters is that i develop the stamina to run continuously. It still depends upon my progress during the training, we’ll see how it goes!

Today’s run: Week 1 day 1: Total time : 30 minutes, 2.13 miles.

**

Eats: Breakfast, a delicious French toast with blueberries and maple syrup.

Dinner: Vegan spaghetti squash cakes. I used Roni’s recipe and instead of adding eggs, I went with flax egg. It was  quite nice. On the side, I enjoyed some kale chips and strawberry salad.

**

Off to do some work, its almost weekend!!!

Q. For all you runners out there,on days when I am not running, should I do yoga or cross train? Your advices will be highly appreciated.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Well done you!! How exciting 🙂

  2. wow best of luck for that I love running gives such a high, keep me posted

  3. wow, u r gr8 :)first time in this yummy , cute space. will visit often 🙂

  4. Awesome! They look great. It’s nice to know it works with the flax egg too! 🙂

  5. Good for you!! You know what I would do if I were you? I would sign up for the race now, and that way you would be forced to do it. I mean, if you pay for it, you should run it! Then you won’t come up with any excuses not to…you know?? Not that you would, but you know what I mean.

    I’ve got to try this spaghetti squash cake, it sounds yummy. I just bought two more spaghetti squash and I’m trying to get more before they go out of season 😦

  6. Yummy, yummy, yummy! In my opinion, I think you should do yoga once a week and incorporate strength training at least 2x a week if you can. It really really helps!

  7. Ooh, exciting! I’m doing the Dogwood 5k here in April. I’m not focusing on speed either.. I just wanna make it to the end! I would definitely incorporate yoga and strength training.

  8. I’m so excited about your first race! I make sure to take one total rest day a week, and then on other days feel free to cross train and do yoga or some other cardio if you like. Obviously listen to your body, but I know you’ll do that.

  9. How exciting!! Good luck! 😀

  10. Ahhh soo exciting!! Your training plans looks pretty good! You’ll do great!

  11. Just got your comment on my blog! We’re twins 🙂
    My race is on April 17th! EEK!!! I don’t have a training plan lol…I need to make one 🙂

  12. ohmygosh yay! congrats on the race! I hope you love training for it! ❤ It's always so much more fun when there is a goal awaiting you and a race to work towards! ❤

    that salad looks diviiiiine! ❤

  13. How exciting! You will do awesome training for it 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about it!

  14. Lady, this is SO exciting! I do 10 minutes of yoga abs every morning (it will definitely help with your running core) and highly recommend yoga for off days. It stretches you out and builds muscle.

  1. Pingback: Vegan Cheezy Rice Casserole |

  2. Pingback: Three things |

  3. Pingback: Anti-boredom plan. |

Leave a Reply

