Vegan Cheezy Rice Casserole

Hello lovelies! Thank you very much for all Β the encouragements, support and suggestions y’all offered for my first race plan. I am looking forward to it.

Now moving on to something amazing. I made a vegan cheezy rice casserole. The recipe is loosely inspired by Giada’s cheesy baked farro but not a stress to the stomach with loads of cheesiness. Honestly this was the first time I tried making a recipe from the start with just the steps in my mind, I played with the ingredients and it turned out fantastic.

Vegan Cheezy Rice Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 1 garlic clove chopped
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup pickles chopped
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp cornflour
  • 2 whole wheat bread slices cut into cubes
  • 1 tbsp + small drizzle of EVOO.

Directions:

  • Heat 1 tbsp EVOO in a pan and add the onion and garlic.Cook till they turn translucent and smell amazing.
  • Next add the almond milk and nutritional yeast. When it comes to a boil, add the cornflour. Once again get it to a light boil, till the cheezziness thickens.
  • Finish up with the chopped pickles and season.
  • Finally mix the brown rice with the mixture and transfer it to a baking dish.
  • Top with the cubed bread slices and drizzle some oil. Bake at 350F for 30 minutes.

I served mine alongside a nice salad with ranch dressing.

I have plenty of leftover for my lunches next week.

Aren’t you happy that weekend is here?!

Q. If you have a fully paid vacation, which destination would you pick?I think high on my list is New Zealand at this point.

Q. Beach or hills? I am a hill person, love the mountains and the cool air. Don’t get me wrong,I love Hawaii too!

 

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 12, 2011, in Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Oh my gosh!!! I am going to have to make this, as I adore pickles and have never really seen them implemented in a proper recipe. Thank you Priyanka!

  2. Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first. ~Ernestine Ulmer

  3. That looks so good! I love the adjustments you made. I am super glad the weekend is here!! My best friend is in town visiting and its just wonderful. I would love to go to Australia, New Zealand or take Josh to Hawaii & San Francisco (because hes never been). I’m 100% a beach person

  4. Anything with the word “cheezy” or “cheesy” is okay in my book! :] I definitely love the hills and the beach … but right now, I’m definitely thinking beach!!

    Have a great weekend :]

  5. That recipe looks so good pickles + nooch = WIN!! I will definitely need to try this πŸ™‚ And, I just ordered a good 2lbs of nooch this week- can’t wait til it gets here!
    I’m a total beach person..and I’d love to go to Greece or Brazil!

  6. Looks great I have never made a casserole but this looks so easy and yummy can try this one.
    Vacation oh god!!!! so tough to decide I am both a beach as well as hills person
    would love to go back to New Zealand(went there for my honeymoon) but I think somewhere in Europe, French countryside maybe

  7. Fully paid vacation – Mauritius…hands down!!!
    And 100% the beach – love water and its calming effect. πŸ™‚

    Your casserole looks soo good! I love it when a recipe turns out delicious!

  8. mmmm! i’ve been a rice junkie all week! all month actually! ahh cannot get enough! ❀

  9. uh wow – you had me at cheezy! πŸ™‚ if i had to pick anywhere to go on vacation right now, it would be on a european tour complete with a europass and unlimited funds and time to explore!!! i am a mountain person for sure!

  10. I love that there are pickles in there!!!! πŸ™‚

  11. Top destination – Asia somewhere, perhaps Thailand or Vietnam, Id love to do a cooking course or two and learn some new methods and recipes. Although, New Zealand would be great too. πŸ™‚
    AND….
    Im totally a beach gal!

  1. Pingback: Black and White chocolate muffins «

Leave a Reply

