Anti-boredom plan.

Hello bloggies, hope you are having a happy day. I am certainly not in a great mood today. Just some stuff,nothing personal/health/family related!

Something that was kick a$$ today, amongst all this gloominess, my cross training. Okay so let me back up a bit, remember when I posted my rough training plan for the upcoming 5K in May, well I modified it a bit. I am doing a modified version of Hal Higdon’s 5K training plan: Novice.

I hate being monotonous and cannot do the same routine day in and day out. I like to add some variations like elliptical and cycling to keep my interest going. And of course all your encouragement’s in the comments section of the post helped too.

I don’t want to jinx this but so far, I am happy with the progress made throughout the week. I am concentrating big time on improving my stamina, breathing and my lower body strength. I haven’t included strength training in my routine yet, ‘cuz I want to avoid any chances of burn out. Slow and steady right!

Since today was cycling day, I decided to do my version of the Anti-Boredom workout. This workout had me in and out of the gym in 40 minutes.

Minutes What to do
BIKE
0-5:00 Warm up gradually did this at level 3
5:00-7:00 Pedal @85 rpm at level 5
7:00-8:00 Pedal @ 100 rpm at level 5
8:00-14:00 Repeat above cycle
14-15 recover
ELLIPTICAL
15:00-18:00 Move at moderate level (level 6)
18:00-20:00 Move at higher level (level 10)
20-30 Repeat above cycle
COOL DOWN

Now moving on to dinner. Today was all about blogger inspired dinners. I made Anna’s capsicum stuffed roasted chicken and a side of Roni’s simple stuffed sweet potatoes. Well I left the chicken and stuffed potatoes in the oven and went off to the gym, without telling the husband to shut off the oven. Hence we had sweet potato skins. Oh and the daiya on top of the skins, lets say that was an epic fail too.

Off to work on my thesis…blah!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 16, 2011, in Workout, gym talk. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. tht is awesome and so inspiring.
    so u working on a thesis.? i did to. i hear ya!!

  2. mmmm that cheesy bread looks YUM! It’s nice to mix things up in the workout-department sometimes, ya know?

  3. Your chicken looks very pretty! Don’t you love accidentally leaving things in the oven, not! =)

  4. Hope your mood is brightened today! : ) (I wasn’t in the best of moods yesterday myself … the sun is supposed to be shining today so that should help, ha).

  5. Oh no! I hate when I leave things in the oven too long, especially after working so hard on it, booo! that would mess with my mood, too.

    I’m going to look at your workout links. Once I’m able to resume exercise, I need some “anti-boredom” workouts!

    • Haha, I can’t do your novice 5k plan because I couldn’t run 1.5 miles the first week. Doh!

      • Christine- I wouldn’t say I am a total novice since I have done c25k off and on. That being said per this plan you are supposed to run 1.5 miles at a pace where you can converse with people. Not easy, I agree, but you can build on it. I took three breaks while doing that run.

  6. I left a kombucha squash in the oven overnight once b/c I forgot… fail fail fail! haha!

    Hope you’re day picks up steam and rocks your socks! MWAH!!!!!!!!

  7. I love your workout! Something that’s always interesting to me is that I do better running if I’ve done the elliptical the day before…
    Good luck making progress on your thesis 🙂

  8. you didn’t like daiya? i haven’t tried it even though i meant to during my vegan challenge….

    sorry you’re having a bad day. i hope it gets better!!!!

  9. Workouts always seem to pickup my mood!!! What a great dinner, ESPECIALLY those stuffed potatoes. Gotta love blogger inspired meals

  10. The chicken does look lovely!

    I don’t blame you for wanting a bit more variety in your training plan. I figure, as long as you keep moving, then it’s working, right?

  11. I make mistakes like that all of the time! But your chicken looks amazing. When I used to make stuffed chicken it never came out like that.

  1. Pingback: Go green! |

Leave a Reply

