Go green!

Hello fellow bloggies. Thank you for boosting my spirits yesterday. Your comments brightened my day, thank you, thank you!

Happy St. Patrick’s day! Did you go all green?! I always manage to have some green on me, but since I was in a not-so-good mood yesterday, I forgot that today was 17th. One tradition that I have carried on every year since I came to the US and got acquainted with this holiday is, baking the Irish Soda Bread. The husband loves it too. I think my breakfast problem is solved for the next few days!

Rustic and choc full of raisins and choco chips!

Since green was the theme of the day, dinner had to involve the color. Per the menu plan (See, I knew it was St. Patrick’s day until Sunday, but it magically escaped mind over the week), I was supposed to make Aloo Palak (Aloo-Potato and Palak-spinach)

The curry was enjoyed over a bed of cooked millet. This was my first time trying millet and I think it is a great alternative for white rice. I have tried quinoa, bulgur, brown rice (which is my new love by the way) and now millet! Toasting the millet in the pan prior to cooking in water is the key to keeping the grains separate and not turn into a mush. I cooked the millet per Emily’s method.

**

Workout: 1.5 mile easy run, yes easy, and the best part I did not take any breaks today. YAY. Jogged at 4.2 miles till I covered 1.5 miles non-stop.

**

What did you do today for St. Patrick’s day?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 17, 2011, in Gluten free, Grains, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Raisins and chocolate chips are such a good combination!!

  2. Ok, so I guess I need to try millet! I have always told clients about it, but I’ve never tried it. I believe it’s a whole grain…right? Although I’m sure, similar to rice, they can refine it. I will keep my eyes peeled.

    I didn’t do anything for St. Patty’s day, but I DID wear green!

  3. I want to try millet now!!!!! =) fabulous! Your spinach curry looks so gooooood!!! =) Happy friday love!

  4. I have never ever had chocolate chips in Irish soda bread, but I have a feeling it would be amayz.

  5. love it! u rock girl!

  6. Now I know why my millet is always mushy! I had no clue that I needed to toast it first. Wow, where have I been??

    I love it though, it is a fantastic substitute for rice!

  7. Ya know, I have never had Irish soda bread! I’ve been seeing them all week around blogworld and they sound amazing! And so does your dinner! Do you have a recipe you could share? I love experimenting with different grains…millet is one of my faves!

    I remembered to wear green and went around work with my peenchy fingers out! Haha! Only I don’t pinch hard…hate it when people do that! Ouch!

    I also made some mint chocolate chip dessert hummus that was sooooooo good!

  8. Irish soda bread rules. Nuff said.

    You go with your bad self running without stopping!

  9. The soda bread looks fantastic! I’ve never put chocolate chips in mine- definitely need to do so! YUM! We didn’t really celebrate st. patty’s day- whoops! Hope you’re having a nice weekend

  10. I love soda bread it’s so yummy. Your Aloo Palak looks delicious too, and now I’m craving curry. lol

Leave a Reply

