Festive eats

First, I want to wish all of y’all a very HAPPY HOLI! Holi is a festival of colors celebrated to welcome spring, and partake in the merry of the season. And we all know, be it any culture or country all over the globe, no festival celebration is complete without a fare full of yummy food. I guess festival food is made in a special way, and is meant to be enjoyed completely since it is made so rarely and richly I may add. So let me show you what festive food on an auspicious occasion like Holi, looks like!

Fried flat breads called Puris.

white rice

potato curry

deep fried dumpling stuffed with a sweet filling.

Definitely the highlight of the meal. I am not a pro at making sweets but I think the outcome was enjoyable.

**

I definitely enjoy planning my meals and hope to continue it this week too, with one modification. I am going to cook three days a week, for two reasons, one there are too many leftovers and second I am quite busy with lab work and thesis writing, so less cooking gives me enough time to catch up on my writing.

M- Chana masala

T- Pad Thai

W- Leftovers

Th-Baingan Bhartha with brown rice and roti for the husband.

F- Out!

**

How was your weekend? Mine, went away at the blink of an eye ! I spent most of my time completing my thesis, cooking and then some organizing this morning.

 

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 20, 2011, in Indian, Meal planning, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Happy Holi! I love the sound of festival to celebrate spring and colours 🙂

  2. How fun! Can I have some of your Holi food?? ; )

  3. Happy Holi to you! I always miss home and my family around the time of Indian holidays, but I did go to the temple to see the festivities (and pray)! LOL! Your food is gettting me excited to go home this week…my mom already has a menu lined up! 🙂 Have a great day!

  4. I didn’t know the festival of colors was here. I missed it, wah. Did you throw paint on people?

  5. my weekend went by much too quickly too! your holi food looks delicious – i want those flatbreads!

  6. Ahhh what a delish plate of food! Hope you had a great Holi! =)

    I can’t wait to see your pad thai! =) yummm!

  7. Happy Holi!
    Your food looks awesome! Did you make the sweets from scratch?! And the puri??

  8. I think that food looks amazing. The weekend always goes by way too fast for my liking. Have a good week!

  9. Impressive! I had puris too! I love them on special occasions. Your food looks very inviting.
    Belated happy holi 🙂

  10. I LOVE the festive meals! Sound delicious!

  11. HAPPY HOLI! What a great festival. Are there any left overs? I’ll be there soon. LOL

Leave a Reply

