Ready to be 30?

I am pressed for time, I really need to eat breakfast and I loved this post idea when I saw it on Tanvi’s blog. Here is  a list of 30 skills that every woman should possess before she turns 30!I celebrated my 28th bday this year and that gives me two years to ace the one I haven’t completed already.  So lets begin,

1. Hard-boil an egg – CHECK

2. Diplomatically tell mom to butt out– Never had to and I don’t think I could do that to her, cuz if she is interested in my matters its because she cares.

3. Ace a job interview -CHECK

4. Ask a man out – FAIL. I don’t think I have the confidence to do that and there is no scope now, since I am married 😉

5. Send a thoughtful thank-you note – CHECK

6. Listen to a friend in need– CHECK. I am an excellent listener.

7. Ask for help– CHECK

8. Effectively end an unhealthy relationship [romantic or platonic in nature] – Never had to!

9. Beautifully wrap a gift – CHECK. FYI, I am a pro at this.

10. Say “no” gracefully– FAIL until now, CANNOT say no!

11. Whip up a great dinner with the five items in her fridge– CHECK. I would be a shame to the food blogging community if I could not do that, right!

12. Forget pleasing him, by 30 a woman should be able to tell her man exactly how to please her – CHECK

13. Sew a button : Poor at it but CHECK

14. Mix a kick-ass cocktail: Don’t drink alcohol, so, FAIL!

15. Take off her bra without removing her shirt: As embarrasing this is to admit on the blog, I am really good at this thing, so CHECK!

16. Apply lip gloss in the dark – CHECK

17. Balance her checkbook -CHECK

18. Create a budget -CHECK

19. Find the best deal – Wouldn’t say fail, but this is not my area of expertise,the husband is more into finding the best deals etc. But I’ll do at least one best deal before I turn 30 🙂

20. Negotiate a salary and/or pay raise: Never done this!

21. Read a map– CHECK, I am a pro!

22. Hail a cab – CHECK.

23. Say something in French just for the hell of it– CHECK, but it wasn’t for the hell of it, I spoke to the car driver in Paris. My very limited school knowledge of French helped us inform the driver that we didn’t speak French fluently. How paradoxical right!?

24. Apologize when she’s wrong – CHECK

25. Dress for her body type -CHECK

26. Change a flat … or know whom to call to come change it – Never had to, but when in need call the husband right?!

27. Spot a fake [handbag, diamond, potential friend …] – CHECK. Cannot handle fake in any form, human or material.

28. Feign interest – CHECK

29. Know what to tip on a $25 dinner bill – CHECK

30. Hold a baby– Must say not my strength but CHECK

Still need to complete a few items on the list before turning 30, but at least its not a long one.

**

Dinner: Leftovers form yesterday.

**

Workout: Easy 1.5 mile run at 4.5 mph and 0.5% incline and then walk at 5% incline for 10 minutes.

**

Let me know if you decide to do this meme, I would love to read more about you 🙂

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I can do all except no 14 will work on it this weekend

  2. i’ll never be ready to be 30 😦
    btw have u seen the flick turning 30? i liked the songs!

  3. This is a great list – I can say check to most of the items! I’ve still got some time! 🙂

  4. I have trouble feigning interest and holding babies =) hahahaha!

    you’ve got tiiiime! ❤ we both do!

  5. Love the list – I need to work on a few but have a little less than 3 years…plenty of time!!! You seem so cute and fun! I love that you share information about yourself besides just meals and workouts!

  6. I’ve never done 20, 27 is basically a sport for me. I love spotting fakes like whoah!

    And with two more years to go, I think you can definitely lock the remaining tasks down 🙂

  7. I need to do this, especially since I’m about to turn 33!

  8. I love these…I’m 35 and I still can’t lift a tire nevermind change one! And I can’t ask for help…this is a problem obviously. I have never asked a man out and I can’t hold a baby properly – despite having my own child. I can’t read a map or make a cocktail either…neither of these is a problem though since I have GPS and I don’t drink!

  9. Okay my comment has nothing to do with this post. I am 36 so like, whoa, I can only dream of being 30 again. Inyhoo, wait, it’s your birthday? Mine is monday. We’re almost birthday sisters! (but not.) Inyhoo again, so here’s the thing. I just read your about page and found that you were in Tennessee. (side note: I evidently do not know how to spell Tennessee as I had to try about five times to make the red squiggly line go away). I totally thought you lived in India. Now I feel like we are practically neighbors!

  10. Can you teach me how to read a map? Haha, I’m actually getting a lot better, but not going to lie… I have a hard time with it!

  11. Great going!!! 🙂

    And my brother is flying to Bombay to watch the match … so imagine how sad I am 😦 But we’ll cheer together ! From here … are you waking up?!??

    ♡ from © tanvii.com

  12. Cool! I’m not 30 yet so there’s still time to learn how to change a tyre….. if I have to, but seriously I doubt if I’m ever going to master the art of changing a tyre or learning how to mow the lawn. They just seem like stupid jobs that someone else probably loves doing right!! Right!!!

Leave a Reply

