Happy Birthday Mum!

It’s April 01 today, and this day is the birthday of the most special person in my life, my angel, my friend, my life long suporter and in my opinion the most beautiful woman in the world….my MUM!

I am lucky to have you as my mother and just hope I can be a fraction of what you are.

Happy Birthday Mum!!

Just for fun, a side by side bridal picture of my mum and I on our wedding days.

**

Food Find Friday (FFF) : Normally Fridays around the b’sphere are devoted to a fashion friday post, however, I thought doing a FFF post would be fun and it meshes well with my interests i.e. food. Not to forget that you need to be fashionable to do a fashion friday post and my dressing sense…well lets just leave it at that!

I found Pasta Slim wheat and gluten free spinach fettuccine at Earthfare a few days back and it lookedย interestingย to me.

And the nutritional stats are not to shabby either,

To test out the fettuccine, I used it as a bed for my tempeh bolognese. (ground tempeh+ red pepper flakes+ jarred marinara sauce+ some more Italian seasoning)…Ah-mazing!!

They have a very bland taste and a nice bite. If you’ve tasted shirataki noodles, they taste just like them …i.e. no taste. I actually did not mind it all. I am not a big pasta fan, only exception being noodles love them in Chinese food. So this was a nice substitute. I actually would love to buy this again.

Let me just add, I have nothing against carbs and I am not a proponent of any form of low carb diet!

A salad alongside and nutritional yeast flakes to top the sauce.

**

Workout: 30 minutes on the elliptical at level 7. Honestly did not feel very satisfying, I am getting used to the high after running, I think.

**

What are your plans for the weekend? I will be waking up at an ungodly hour on Saturday morning to cheer team India in the Cricket World cup final, which I am sure will put my sleep cycle out of whack for the weekend.

 

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 1, 2011, in Family, Food Finds Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ohmygosh, the bridal pictures! You truly do look like beautiful sisters. Awww!

  2. Happy birthday to your mom!! Those are great pictures!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I especially love the side by side bridal pictures.

    I’m not sure what we’re up to this weekend, but I’m sure we’ll find something fun to do … maybe some baking, and seeds/plant starters for our impending garden! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Happy birthday to you mom! You look a lot like her…especially in the bridal pics!!! Very beautiful!

  4. happy birthday to your mom, you two look so similar both beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚
    I also plan to watch the world cup finals and then have to prepare for a trip I take next week

  5. wow you are the spitting image of your mum. I love that first picture of her…your mum is so beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved this post because my mum is my angel as well

  6. You girls look so much alike, it’s incredible. What gorgeous wedding photos.

  7. Happy birthday to your mom! You are both gorgeous ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the wedding pictures and I hope I look as beautiful as you two do on my own wedding day…someday!
    The pasta looks really interesting! I haven’t tried shiratake but I really want to.

  8. Happy birthday to your mama! Y’all look so much alike! Beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ And I want to try those noodles. I actually kind of like having something carby that doesn’t have a lot of flavor that you can add flavor too. Weekend= dinner & brunch plans, working out, cleaning, usual stuff ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Hi Priyanka,
    Happy Birthday to your Mom!! Now coming to your blog.. I was going through some of your posts and I must say I loved reading each of them.. You write so well.. neat and original thoughts..
    will keep visiting you!!

  10. You and your mom are both gorgeous! Happy birthday to her ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I need to try nutritional yeast on my sketti sauce =) it looks and sounds good! I jsut cannot sniff it! the smell drives me batty! hehe

    happy birthday to your beautiful mommy!!!!

  12. wow, you and your mom look so alike in your bridal photos! honestly, i couldn’t tell which was you and which was her! you’re both beautiful. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. You look just like your mom in that first photo Priyanka! And what a sweet tribute…I hope that Maya writes something like this on my behalf one day.

    You are both beautiful!! Happy birthday MOM!

  14. omg wht a beauty u both are!
    belayed happy bday to ur mum!
    BTW a snack i love is edemame – japanese soy pods.

Leave a Reply

