Thanks, hail stones and brown rice risotto

Ladies, all I can say to begin with is, thank you, thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart. I cannot express how much each of your comment meantto me! I certainly appreciate it and will let you know how things unfold when it is appropriate to talk about it. However just wanted to let you know that I am perfectly fine now-bright and cheery!

04.26.11:Last night I went back to the tread mill to get my run in, I kicked some serious a$$ based on my previous runs. I completed a 5K under 39 minutes running  constantly at 5mph (with just one break for a minute).

Today I decided to rest,since I feel bit under the weather. Even the weather is a bit funky here, we are having crazy storms, raining and thundering.Look at the hail stones,

With the loud thundering and rocking hail stones, I thought the roof would break and one of the stone would come and hit me!

**

I have a lazy girls recipe to share with ya, a 4 minute tomato basil “risotto”. The best thing its vegan, gluten free and quick! The husband is out in this crazy weather entertaining a German crew for dinner and that leaves me all by myself for dinner. This recipe was perfect and since I had no motivation to cook, it worked out pretty well.

Tomato Basil Brown Rice “Risotto”


Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of Uncle Ben’s 90 second brown rice or 1.5 cup cooked brown rice.
  • 1 cup organic pasta sauce
  • 2 tbsp hummus
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast.
  • garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dried basil 
  • salt and pepper to taste.
  • 1/4 cup water
Directions:
  • Dump all the ingredients in a sauce pan at medium heat except the rice.
  • When the sauce comes to a boil add the brown rice.
  • Add some water to thin down the mixture.
  • Heat it through and gobble it down!
Off to do some photo back up on my hard drive now and blog reading.
Good night!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. So glad you’re feeling a bit better! And this recipe is PERFECT. I’ve been craving brown rice lately but haven’t really known what to make. Considering my current obsession with nooch, I’m all for this!

  2. I’m glad you’re doing better!!! That risotto looks wonderful – so creamy! Be safe with all that crazy weather – that hail is huge.

  3. These storms we’ve been having are insane! My husband picked me up from work today and I left my car on campus where I heard the hail was even worse. I’m scared to go see what it looks like tomorrow :/

    Congrats on the fast 5k! That’s a great time!

  4. congrats on killing that 5k girl! 🙂 sorry about those crazy storms. yuck.

  5. Seriously, just when I think our weather has peaked as The Weirdest, someone else gets hit with something stranger/more horrible.

    Thanks for the quickie risotto recipe – I never would have thought about making it that way, but Marcus would definitely devour it in a heartbeat.

  6. That hail looks intense!!
    Your risotto looks awesome- I always thought it would be so intimidating to make, but I love your version! Can’t wait to make it 🙂
    And way to rock that 5K!

  7. Very well done for your PB! 5k in less than 39 minutes is really impressive!
    The recipe looks awesome and super easy. I’ll give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Glad your feeling better lovely 🙂 Mmm, the tomato basil risotto is just what I feel like 🙂

  9. I’m happy to hear that you’re feeling better now! Wow, those hail stones are crazy! We’ve been having crazy weather here too lately for some reason. Love this risotto idea — I’m definitely going to make it!

  10. The weather has been nuts! Glad you guys are safe. Great job on the run !! Love risotto, especially a quicker version. Feel better

  11. I’m really glad you are feeling better! Risotto can definitely help in that case.

    Crazy weather! I can’t imagine how crazy hail would be when we can’t even handle rain over here. 🙂

  12. I keep hearing about all this crazy weather- so scary!!

  13. glad to hear u r better. i was away from the blog world myself for a week and missed out on some posts. risosto looks good!
    hope things get back to normal for u soon. tc.

  14. Congrats on your run! Way to bust it out!

    I love quick “no recipe” recipes! I’ve been having a lot of them lately for dinner as I’ve just been too tired to think up anything else! Hummus always seems to be the star too!

Leave a Reply

