Early rising

Source

I really want this whole waking up early things to work, after writing my post last evening, I sat and wondered why is it that I cannot wake up early. While still pondering over this, I started reading a few blogs and it looks like many of my fellow bloggers are working on developing this habit. It was fun to read their posts and incorporate some of their tips. Did you know there is an entire website dedicated for this, its called how to wake up early.

Other bloggers dealing with the same issue,

– Classy Career Girl

– Angeliki on developing her morning routine

– Steve Pavlina’s method to rise early <– Removes the thinking out of waking up and may work, but I haven’t tried it.

– The most practical method in my opinion by Leo Batuta at Zen Habits. I tried this and I am happy with my baby step success.

Small steps without drastic changes works best. I set my alarm for 6:45 am this morning  and it worked! I am really hoping this technique works.

**

Kat, Chandana and Hannah asked for the proportions of the Macaroons I made yesterday, so here they are

♦ 1/2 cup almond meal

♦1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

♦2 T coconut oil

♦1/4 cup agave

♦Zest of one lemon and one orange

For the chocolate macaroons I added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa instead of almond meal. The cocoa and agave should be in the same proportion, just so the sweetener can balance the bitterness from the cocoa.

The above measurements gave me about 10 macaroons.

**

Dinner: Potato in yogurt gravy with quinoa!

Workout: About to head out for a 5k on the treadmill, its raining outside 😦

Motivational quote of the day-

The average person puts only 25% of his energy and ability into his work. The world takes off its hat to those who put in more than 50% of their capacity, and stands on its head for those few and far between souls who devote 100%.

–Andrew Carnegi

Question: Early riser or night owl?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Goals. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thanks Priyanka! I love the equal weighting of almonds and coconut 🙂

    P.S. Def a night owl, me. I still go to bed/sleep around 1am, and get up at 8am just in time to roll out of bed and walk to work…. I don’t think it’s necessary to become an early rise if you aren’t wired that way 😛

  2. Can you start posting your Indian food recipes, please!?!? I am definitely an early riser and an old fart at night. 🙂 I’ve been that way my whole life!

  3. Thank you for the proportions and yes, I’m with Parita. Recipes, please?! You know I’d be in love.

    I’m such an early riser. I love the morning 11/10.

  4. I’m 23 going on to 80…my eyes open by 6.30 and are droopy by 11! I love starting my day early!

  5. I can’t believe that a whole website is dedicated to waking up early. I’m so glad, I’m not the only one that struggles with this 🙂
    I’ve tried Leo’s method but it doesn’t work for me. I’m too impatient and if I wake up just a few minutes earlier, I tend to spend my time, drinking tea in bed. Please let us know how this works out for you.

    Thank you for the macaroons recipe. I’ll definitely give it a try. I love macaroons and I made some ginger macaroons the other day but they were too ginger-y for my taste.

  6. I am such an early riser and not a night owl. I am usually up before 5:00am during the week and about 7:00 on weekends which is why I am in bef before 9:00 most nights

  7. Early riser 🙂 I get up around 4:30 or 5 most week days and hit up the gym before I start into work. I try to sleep in on the weekends, but the latest I usually make it to is 7:30 or 8. I’m still dreaming of your macaroons 🙂

  8. Thanks for the macaroon recipe, I think I’m going to make them this weekend! 🙂

  9. What a wondeful timing for the post. I was just thinking when will I make waking up early a habit for me the main thing is to go to bed early.. I followed Steve Pavlina’s approach it worked for sometime then ….. I hope all of us develop this habit.

    Thanks a lot for the recipe proportions.

Leave a Reply

