Dahiwale Aloo (Potatoes in a tangy yogurt sauce)

Good evening folks!

We are over the hump, hooray, that only means one thing the weekend is getting closer.

Tonight I am sharing a recipe with ya, an Indian curry to be precise. Last night I made dahiwale aloo (aloo= potato and dahi= yogurt) i.e. Potatoes in a tangy yogurt sauce.

DAHIWALE ALOO 

(Serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1 huge potato or 3 medium potatoes
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 1 garlic clove finely chopped
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp garam masala powder
  • 1/4 cup yogurt, diluted with 1/4 cup water and mixed to form a smooth mixture
  • Salt to taste
  • cilantro for garnishing or not if you are a hater 🙂
Directions:
  • Heat 1T canola oil in a skillet and add the cumin seeds. When the seeds begin to crackle add the onion, ginger and garlic. Cook till the onions turn translucent.
  • Next add the potatoes and add a bit of salt. Let the potatoes cook till they become soft, this may take about 8-9 minutes.
  • Follow it up with tomatoes and the spices. Cook for 2-3 minutes, till the tomatoes are cooked.
  • Lastly we want to add the yogurt and salt, remove the skillet from the heat source and let it cool for a minute. If you add the yogurt when the mixture is still hot, the yogurt will curdle and the end product is not what you want. So once it is slightly cooled down, add  the yogurt mixture and then heat it on the lowest flame for 4-5 minutes.
  • Season and garnish with cilantro!
I served mine over a bed of quinoa!
You can double the recipe if you are cooking for more people.

**

Wake up early challenge: I set my 15 minutes earlier then yesterday i.e. 6:30 and woke up without a fuss. To prevent any early morning convincing to sleep in, I wrote down in big bold letters the tasks I had to do immediately on waking and that gave me some energy. Visual motivation is the way to go 🙂

**

Dinner tonight: I borrowed this idea from Erica. I had a couple of Tostitos dip creations (Samples sent as a part of the Foodbuzz program) waiting to be used. This burger idea was the perfect way to use the country ranch mix. I made a black eyed peas burger with the country ranch mix and some cheddar cheese and cooked them on a skillet. Topped the burger on a salad with hummus and sriracha.

**

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Wow, both recipes look wonderful. That yogurt sauces looks so vibrant and tasty.

  2. Ooh Priyanka, both of these meals look beautiful! I’ve never cooked with yoghurt because of allergies in the family, but I love its tanginess and think this curry would be great!

  3. Thank you for posting the recipe, doll! You’re a hero, really.

    And, I need to take a whack at bean burgers soon…Now that I’ve got Marcus eating fruit-glazed chicken and brown rice, I think we’re ready to roll, no?

  4. mmm, i love burger salads! 🙂 it looks great!

  5. Oh my goodness…this looks so yumm….! I just had my dinner and this made me hungry again 😛

  6. I am making this potato dish next week! Keep posting the Indian recipes…I need to build my skillset!

  7. Thank you for posing the curry recipe!! My husband and I love Indian food and go to this all you can eat indian buffet for lunch… It’d be much cheaper if I could cook it at home : )

  8. Totally making this as soon as possible! I love Indian food 🙂

  9. YES PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This looks so absolutely hearty and delicious! On my to-make list for sure!

  10. the aloo looks fabulous- thank you sooo so much for explaining the yogurt/heat thing! Whenever I try to make a yogurt based curry it curdles and it so gross! I had no idea what I was doing wrong, so thank you! I’m totally making this ASAP.

Leave a Reply

