Eating-food and words

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

The husband and I love Mexican and we need a reason to eat something around those flavors and it does not feel foreign. In my opinion, Mexican and Indian cuisines are cousins.

To celebrate the spirit of Cinco de Mayo, I made a Mexican bowl again, man I love this stuff.

In the bowl,

  • Spring mix
  • brown rice
  • guacamole
  • pico de gallo
  • cheese
Simple yet filling. 

**

Sometimes you just eat your own words and today was one such day. I decided to bake, I know! who am I?! The temptation to bake arose when I saw a bag of butterscotch chips lying in the pantry, love these btw!!

I went to all recipes,typed in butterscotch cookies and followed it to the T, except that I swapped the butter for earth balance, added only brown sugar and omitted the white sugar. I was marveled that measuring exactly gives you just the number of cookies mentioned i.e. 12 in this case . The only problem they were cloyingly sweet and this was after omitting the white sugar…I am going to make a much healthier version of these sometime soon but overall I did not hate the final product.

**

Workout: The husband was not feeling like running outside today, so we headed to the gym where he did his thang and I ran on the treadmill to complete my 5K.

**

Question:

Do you love Mexican food? If yes, what is the best thing you like about it?

I love guacamole and salsa. 

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I love guacamole, fish tacos and margaritas

  2. I like Mexican food, but the lighter kind. would that be called TEx Mex?

  3. I had never thought of Indian and Mexican food as being cousins, but given that I adore both, I’m more than fine with getting on-board with that one, lady!

    I do love guacamole and a nice variety of homemade salsas. Oooh, and tamales. I barely ever have them, but they’re just a wonderful treat!

  4. So envious! We don’t have butterscotch chips in Aus!

  5. i don’t think i’ve ever owned a bag of butterscotch chips?!?

  6. I love Mexican food. It’s full of flavor but not too spicy. Plus I can eat guacamole everyday for the rest of my life and never get bored of it 🙂

  7. Hell to the yes! My favorites are the avocado, greek yog (faux sour cream), salsa and taco shells….oh i love it all!

  8. I love your Mexican Bowl!! Sounds delicious. I’ve been into guacamole and chips lately, in moderation…of course 😉 I do love Mexican food, but we don’t eat it a whole lot. I do a lot of fusion dishes, with black beans and rice, and then random foods like spinach, asparagus, etc. And, Nick and I put Red Hot on EVERYTHING….that would be considered Mexican..right?!
    Those cookies look great!

  9. I love guacamole and salsa. I don’t like it at a Mexican restaurant where everything is greasy and covered with cheese though. So I’m torn on Mexican.

  10. I love mexican food. Suprisingly I like Qdoba better than authentic mexican food places probably because they are too greasy (well they are too tast too).

    I make my own naked burritto veggie bowl with the best trader joe’s gives me.

  11. That is a beautiful Mexian bowl, just full of goodies…yum! Hope you had a great Cinco de Mayo!

  12. Guacamole is definitely my favorite part of Mexican cuisine and I love bowls just like yours…Chipotle is my favorite place to get rice bowls. Minus the cheese of course!

  13. I just got back from Mexico and interestingly did not enjoy the authentic mexican cuisine. I think we are just used to the white washed versions of fusion mexican. Our palate has been ‘trained’ to like the modified thing. 🙂 I love the loaded North American fajitas.
    Your bowl looks scrumptious! yum!

Leave a Reply

