Spending personalities and amazing Greek salad

Do you watch Smart cookies? It is a great show targeted for women who aim to be financially sound and proficient. Their show airs on Ion TV and is great resource for money dummies like me. One of the show explained about spending personalities of people. Based on the way people spend, they can be categorized into three groups each led by the animal mascot.

*Squirrel: You are a saver, do good research before spending and think about keeping that earned dollar for a rainy day rather than spending on frivolities.

*Peacock: Just like a peacock you know when to spread your feathers (read spending). You plan and save. You have your future planned and know how to spend the dollar in hand rightly. You don’t mind enjoying some overspending occasionally.

*Ostrich: You don’t care about anything and prefer to stay oblivious about your current finances. Pretty much like an ostrich, you dig your head into the ground and don’tt care.

**

Dinner: Goodness I have no words to describe my dinner tonight. This salad is the perfect meal for a warm summer evening.  And it is even better since it is inspired by two of my favorite chefs, Giada and Jamie. It is a hybrid of jamie’s Greek salad and Giada’s roasted pepper salad.

Served on a bed of romaine and alongside some hummus this was a perfect meal! Adding some navy beans or chickpeas would improve the satiety factor of the salad, but honestly I wasn’t feeling like adding the beans.

The capers and kalamata olives were the reason, I could not keep my hands off this salad. The husband loved it too.

**

Workout: 30 mins on the stationary bike and 10 minutes on the stairmaster.

Bike workout from cool running.com

Warm-up for five minutes. For a twenty minute period alternate 2-minute segments of a fast cadence (80 to90 rpm) at a relatively easy intensity with two-minute segments pedaling out of the saddle at a slightly higher resistance. Cool-down for five minutes.

**

Motivational Monday quote:

When you get into a tight place, and everything goes against you until it seems as though you could not hold on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time when the tide will turn.

Harriet Beecher Stowe

**

Question: What is your spending personality? I can call myself a peacock now. I was an ostrich back in the days but I think with age I have learned to be a peacock.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’m definitely a peacock. I like to save, but I also love that day that comes along where I see the perfect bag/tunic/shoes and I can just buy them without fretting.

  2. yum yum yum!

    I’m sometimes an ostrich and sometimes a squirrel… ok i’m a little bit of all three really! I need to get myself together! haha

  3. I kind of alternate- sometimes I can be really cheap, and other times I just don’t care!

  4. I think I am a peacock but I think my boyfriend would disagree with that, he sees me as an ostrich. Maybe I’m a bit of both 🙂

  5. i’m a peacock too! p.s. i love ur salad. give me some!! 🙂

  6. I’m a peacock most of the time :] The salad looks amazing. They are the best to make during summer for sure.

  7. That salad looks pretty delicious!! Love that quote too — very inspirational!

  8. Love the new blog design! So pretty! Love the quote – it’s so true. Inner strength always appears when you need it…just gotta have faith!

  9. I am definitely a peacock. That God one of us is in this relationship! Otherwise we’d be flat broke.

    I love your new blog look! Very clean and sharp!

Leave a Reply

