My first 5K race.

I did it! I ran my first 5k this morning.

Lets recap a bit,

So I have gone back and forth with running many times in the last two years

I tried the couch to 5K in 2009 and failed since I never completed.

Then I tried c25K in June 2010 and failed again.

However, something happened this year and it really worked, I could run without dying. The only thing I would say that worked for me was consistency and sticking to the program despite some setbacks. I may not have reached my goal weight yet, but well on the path of healthy lifestyle. I would always complain that I am not an active person and can only eat healthy. But now that has changed, I am working out atleast 4times a week and feel happy about it.

And today it all happened, I ran my first ever 5K and I finished it in 37:05.

Mile 1: 10:20 (This was phenomenal. I had such a good pace)

Mile 2: 11:20 (I started to feel the effects of continuous running here and my breathing was very very erratic. at the 1.5 mile mark there was a water station. drank a few sips and felt a bit better)

Mile 3: 14:25 (Rough, rough,rough. I had to stop 4 times on this stretch. My breathing was a major factor that prevented my consistent pace)

I was not very happy about the last mile but really glad that I could make it under 40 minutes.

Lessons learned:

  • Work on my breathing.
  • Never wear a new tshirt you have not trained in. I was running with my husband’s work team and it was mandatory to wear the team shirt. It was long and uncomfortable.
  • Wear a watch (totally forgot about laying this out the night before)
I am happy and cannot wait to sign up for my next race, I have already made a plan for it.
Right now I am waiting for the official pictures and race results.
**
Pre race breakfast:
All happy and excited before my battery was going to die,
Small proof that I did it,
P.S: My camera battery died at the race venue…super, right?!!! UGGHH
About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 14, 2011, in Races, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Congratulations!! That is an amazing time! I totally hear you on the no new clothes on race day. I’ve made that mistake before and chafed like no other!

  2. Fantastic, Priyanka! Congratulations and well done.

  3. Congrats!!!! way to go. 37.05 great pace specially for a first race.
    Already planning of the next race ! glad you enjoyed it so much.
    All the best for the near and far future 5ks, half and full marthons.

  4. Congratulations! That’s an awesome time!

  5. Yay! congrats on your milestone, and best of luck on your next race! 🙂

  6. YAY priyanka!! celebrate – such a big milestone! congrats 🙂

  7. That is AWESOME!!! Congratulations! 🙂 Looks like you had a lot of fun!!!

    ♡ from © tanvii.com

  8. Congrats!! Races are so much fun and addicting. I’m sure you will do great on your next one too!

    Thanks for the stopping by my blog, too! 😀

  9. Congrats!!!!!!! So happy for you 🙂

  10. Yay! Congrats on your first race! That’s so exciting…here’s to many more 🙂

  11. hehe sometimes I hold my breath when I run – the breathing is MUCHO important!!!! HOORAY for your first 5k!!!! I want to run one so badly! ❤

  12. Congratulations, lady! That’s a WONDERFUL accomplishment. I’m SO proud of you for setting that goal and actually making it. Like, that’s a big deal.

  13. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    And GOOD FOR YOU!! I know for a lot of runners, a 5k is no big deal, but I think it’s awesome!! I know I couldn’t go out and run a 5k. You should be proud of yourself!

  14. Congrats on your run! That’s awesome and a great time!!

  15. In 6 weeks, I will be running my first 5k. I am over 300 lbs and the biggest goal is just to complete. The rest will come naturally. Reading your post gives me excitement and inspiration. Congrats!!!!

  16. congratulations and you look great!

  17. Congratulations! That is so fantastic! I can’t remember the last time I ran a mile, much less a couple of miles. But I loved reading about your running journey 🙂

  18. Congratulations!!! Running a 5k makes you feel so good…and completely accomplished by 8am 🙂

  19. Congratulations girl!! Way to go 🙂 Am so glad you stuck it out in spite of all the setbacks… Keep it up!

  20. You go girl!!
    I’m so proud of you 🙂 Knew you could do it!

  1. Pingback: Nibbly sunday «

  2. Pingback: Cooking misadventures «

Leave a Reply

