Recipe: Palak Dal (Lentils with spinach)

Hello folks!

I promised in my last post that I will be posting a dal recipe, well here it is!

Dal sounds simple it really is! But there are so many lentils out there and a distint recipe for each one of them. After getting married, my mum gave me a tutorial on the different types of dals/lentil varieties used. And no kidding, it took me almost a year to get the names right! Here we have the following dals, (lentils in India are called Dal)

from left to right, Kaale masoor (brown lentils), masoor (red lentils), tuvar (split pigeon peas) and moong dal.

Each dal has its own way of being cooked and tempered. Tempering is am important technique to infuse flavors in your dal. Heating the oil and then adding aromatics to your dal, perfumes it. The method of boiling and cooking the lentils from dried is standard as shown below. I tend to use a pressure cooker since it cuts down the cooking time in less then half. 1.5 cups of dried lentils gives you about 5-6 cups of cooked lentils. The liquidiness of the dal can be tailored according to your choice. For cooking the dal, go by the ratio of 1:3 i.e for 1 cup dal use about 3 cups of water.

Ingredients used for tempering: (you can add garam masala, but I don’t)

In a skillet, add oil. Once the oil gets hot, add the cumin seeds. The cumin seeds will begin crackling immediately. Next add asafoetida* (read notes in the recipe) and garlic.

Saute for 10 seconds and next add the chopped roma tomatoes and crushed tomatoes.

Cover with a lid and let the tomatoes cook through. They should something like this,

Add three cups of cooked dal.

Once the dal starts bubbling, add the spinach and cover with lid. Keep covered till, the spinach wilts.

Serve.

Recipe:

There are many more ways to make Dal and I will be posting other versions too. I hope you make this dal and if you do let me know if you liked it.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Indian, Legumes & Lentils, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love lentils and I love spinach but I never thought of combining them! This looks and sounds sooo good. However, it might be difficult to make. My cooking skills are very poor, so this will be a weekend project! I need a recipe notebook to write down all your delicious ideas 🙂

  2. This looks wonderful! And thanks for the step-by-step process 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and entering the giveaway!

    I’ve never cooked with lentils, but I have some in my cabinet just waiting to be used! Thanks for the great recipe 🙂

  4. Ohh I’ve been looking for a simple dal recipe, and I think I found it. My mom’s dal is pretty good but there’s no recipe so I end up frustrated! Thanks!

  5. I always want to eat your Indian food, do you care if Erik and I come over for dinner tomorrow?? 😉

  6. Lady, I am SO excited that you’re doing this series – I didn’t know there was so much detail/such nuances to dal and I’m loving all of this information. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  7. I took a long time to get the names right too, of course even now i get confused once in a while.

    The first time I made sambar I made it with chana dal instead of toor dal even I could not eat it 🙂

  8. So good your sharing your dal recipes, I’ve much to learn in the lentil field…., so this is good stuff, must make this one 🙂

  9. Sounds so good and makes me want to buy a pressure cooker! Lentils or beans and veggies is such a perfect dinner. Filling, tasty, healthy- can’t be beat! Hope you have a good day 🙂

  10. oooh I love dishes like these! So rich and comforting!

  11. Dal sounds soo comforting and warm! I will be bookmarking this 🙂

  12. I love your dal recipe! Mine always comes out so bland…I definitely don’t temper it as well as you 🙂 I’m going to try it your way the next time I make it. Thanks for the tips!
    I loooove the smell of asofaetida for some reason…Is that weird?

Leave a comment