List is all it takes

My life is in a chaos but in a good way and in between all this confusion and changes that I am bringing upon myself, there is only one thing that keeps me streamlined and focused, LIST! I know many of you are list lovers and swear by its power, now I am a convert for good. I have always been into making lists but it was more cursory and writing items on a piece of paper here and there and forgetting about it.

Now, I write everything in one place,

and divide tasks related to particular groups like lab work, university related work, bills, errands etc that have to be taken care of on sticky notes, if required.

But there is another tool that I am swearing by these days, Springpad. I have been a user of springpad but never really understood the full potential of this tool, until now. I am a scatterbrain by nature and I will remember about an important task to be taken care of at the most unusual places (restrooms, meetings etc.). Additionally I have been looking to find a way I can organize and store all the recipes I come across when reading blogs without cluttering my browser’s bookmark bar. Springpad came to the rescue and the best part chrome (and firefox) have springpad extensions for the browser.

I am a traditional list maker and prefer the paper over tech gadgets but this stuff has meshed well with my interests. However, my floral planner rules my world.

These were some of the tools I use to keep my life organized these days. Organization is a tedious process but the outcome is always fun!

**

Thanks to my lazy weekend, I did not menu plan and have been winging it in the kitchen. Result, really sub-par meals. Tonight however the husband and I tag teamed and made gobhi and cheese parathas i.e. cauliflower stuffed in flat breads. These are normally panfried using ghee (Indian clarified butter) and taste out of the world. But since yesterday we ate something that involved Ghee, we eased in the fat dept. and went with EVOO. I rolled the dough and stuffed it while the husband “panfried” it.

I ate mine with ketchup,. However one of the best accompaniment to a paratha is raita (yogurt dip)

**

Workout: 05.26.11- 20 mins on arc trainer resistance 35 and lower body weights.

**

Your favorite organization tip or tool?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 26, 2011, in Organization and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I am the ultimate list maker- it makes everything seem much more doable and I find it so satisfying to tick things off as and when they get done! My blackberry + lists = recipe for organisatioN!

  2. i’m absolutely horrible at organizing and planning things! I make lists in my head before I go to bed and repeat them over and over until I fall asleep. That’s about it…
    Oh and I also have a million scraps of paper with phone numbers, addresses, and random bits of information crammed into my purse and cluttering my desk…

  3. I love organization and my go to method is creating lists. In the past few weeks, I have let myself get away with no lists and it has gotten the best of me – who am I?! I am using this long weekend to regroup and create lists! LOL! Have a great one!

  4. I love having it all down on paper! That dinner looks incredible- i so want to try it! Hope you have a great relaxing weekend

  5. I love organizing and making lists. After trying to love many list making apps I am convinced I am a paper lover. Currently I am totally in love with my filofax.

  6. I love my planner! I have a new one that starts in July- I can’t wait to use it 🙂

Leave a Reply

