Recipe: Corn and pepper curry

Hey friends, thank you very much for all your anniversary wishes! We celebrated the special day by visiting Biltmore Castle in Asheville,NC with friends.

The food was awesome and the city has a very artistic feel to it. There is art in the form of music and paintings all through out downtown and much of the town is richly verdant.

Once home, we were hungry and I had to come up with something quick so, this corn and pepper curry seemed like the perfect idea.

Corn and pepper curry

Ingredients:

  • 2 green bell peppers, chopped
  • 1 Red onion, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 green pepper chopped
  • ½ cup frozen corn
  • 1 T ground coriander
  • 1/2 t turmeric powder
  • 1 t cayenne pepper
  • ¼ cup chickpea flour
  • salt to taste
  • 2 T oil

Directions:

*Heat oil in skillet; add onion and cook till soft and translucent. Once the onion is cooked, add the tomatoes and let them cook till the entire mixture is mushy and soft.

*Next add the spices and the veggies. Let the peppers soften and finally sprinkle the chick pea flour and cook for about a minute till the rawness disappears.

*Add water to the mix, to get to the desired consistency.

*Will pair well with quinoa or whole wheat naan or roti!

**

In other news, I am so excited about Sarah’s virtual summer retreat starting tomorrow. A section of my posts will now be dedicated to detail my experience.

I may need some sleep now, tomorrow I have a date with Reader to catch up on all the posts I am missing!

See you guys tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 29, 2011, in Indian, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I love Asheville. Did you go to any good restaurants?

  2. Wow, I’ve never heard of adding chickpea flour before! Brilliant!

  3. Bookmarked this recipe as well. So many recipes so little time 🙂

  4. I love the simplicity of your dishes! This one looks great…love me some corn!

  5. awwwwwwww- happy anniversary! I have never been to Asheville- its our next road trip!! Sounds like such a great spot. Want to come make me curry sometime? Yours always looks delicious!

  6. oh this looks oh so tasty!

  7. We spent the day at Biltmore 2 weekends ago, what a beautiful place! I’m glad that you enjoyed your anniversary, congratulations! Jenn

  8. curry looks delicious! i will try iyt out.

    congrats on ur anniversary!! the place u went to looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

