Cooking misadventures

I am a self-proclaimed disaster when it comes to baking but today I failed at cooking. I thought if the good stuff makes a cut on the blog, then why not the failures, right!

I wanted to make a blackeye peas pancake recipe and funnily followed it to the “T” without making any modifications but it just did not turn out the way I wanted it too.

The base flavors were however fantastic so I turned it into a gravy.

I served it over brown rice and dinner was saved.

**

Workout:

I have been slacking in the running department ever since my race in May. The whole breathlessness during the race, has left me cautious and feeling a bit intimidated to run and the sudden extreme heat has not been helping either.

Today however, i tied my laces and hopped on the treadmill to  jog 2.65 miles at pace of 12:14. Slow but I want to take it easy for the first week.

**

And finally  I want to get some reading back in my life, so I picked up heart of the matter from the library.

**

Plan for tomorrow:

– Farmers market (hopefully)

-Cleaning

-Lots of studying

**

What are your weekend plans?

Which book is currently on your bookshelf?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Well done for saving the dish! My weekend plans are to keep having amazing awesome delicious super fun happy times in Melbourne! WHEE!!!!

  2. Hi Priyanka,
    I also tried making these pancakes a while ago from a tarla dalal recipe but they did not turn out that well, you know your running inspired me a lot I was slacking a bit earlier but when you started running and sharing it here I got motivated and am doing it regularly now.
    BTW thanks for thinking about me 🙂 comments like yours make blogging worthwhile

  3. Such a clever move to save your dinner!My plans this weekend is cleaning the house, marking essays, blogging, going to a birthday party, reading, meditation and yoga.
    I’m reading the “Full catastrophe living” at the moment, I have a couple of chapters left. Hope I’ll finish it this weekend 🙂

  4. nice work on saving the dish!!! I usually just give up and make something new!

  5. saved by the rice! it looks so good I would have never known it started as an oops!

  6. Ohh good call on turning that mix into a gravy – yum! Let me know what you think of Heart of the Matter…I’d love to hear your opinion. 🙂

  7. Well done on making lemonade outta lemons :)! The next book I want to read is Girl With a Dragon Tattoo

  8. Yum, that does look good! Good for you for managing to save it and still make a yummy meal:).

  9. I hate when my meals don’t turn out the way I like, but your dinner looks delicious!

  10. Excellent Salvage Mission. I don’t think that was ever going to turn into a pancake.

    This weekend we did a bit of celebrating and then today I spent the entirety of the day outside. It was glorious.

  11. That was smart way to save dinner and your dinner looks good.

    I have just started reading The Happiness Project.

Leave a Reply

