Farmers market finds

Hello folks! I hope y’all had a great weekend. I sure did, it was fun, productive, relaxing with a little bit of laziness thrown in! Perfect, right?!

The first thing that I did this weekend was to go to the farmers market.It was my first visit this season and I was blown away by the number of people. So after a lot of roaming around, thriving on the excitement in the air and watching lots of cute babies and doggies, I came back with this loot.

  • Swiss Chard
  • squashes
  • local tomatoes
  • cabbage
  • kale
  • cilantro
  • And overpriced eggs.
**
Other things achieved,
  • Laundry
  • Meal planning
  • Shopped other grocery items.
  • Did a lot of merciless decluttering which was actually very very therapeutic
  • Some Make ahead meals.
**
In the Kitchen on Saturday I managed to take the dish from my last post to a whole new dish. By adding some chickpea flour to the blackeye peas curry, I turned them into fun patties to be used in sandwiches.
One of the best chicken I have made in a long time, not my words, the husbands. I don’t eat chicken much so you have to rely on his recommendation. He gave it a 4.5/5.0.
And finally for dinner tonight, I made Madhur Jafferey’s Chickepeas in Mughlai curry. Yumminess in one bowl! We needed a change from our abused overused Chana masala recipe and this one was just perfect.
Served over a bed of quinoa,
 **
06.05.11: Workout wise I reached another high. It may be trivial for all advanced runners but I ran 3.5 miles yesterday. I was so freakin happy!
06.06.11: And then today to relax those muscles, I did a 20 minute yoga session at home.Equipped with a new yoga mat (in purple!!) I enjoyed yoga all the more 🙂
**
Did you have a fun weekend?
About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 6, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Love the new spin on channa masala! And the burger idea is ingenious – I need to start being more creative in the kitchen when it comes to things like that. 🙂

  2. Congrats on your 3.5 miler! 🙂 Do you run indoors or outside?

    I LOVE your yoga mat! So cute!

    And the chickpea/ blackeye pea patties look super yummy!

  3. 3.5 is nothing to dismiss, that’s great! All that food looks so good. My dad grew up in India and used to cook homemade Indian food for us as kids. Now, his extent of cooking is flipping some burgers on the grill 😦

  4. sounds like you had such a great weekend! 🙂 your farmers market goodies look amazing!

    i had a pretty good weekend too, but i wasn’t as productive as you were.

  5. 1. I’m SWOONING over your eats. Do you recommend this cooking channel guy? I may need to check him out!

    2. Congrats on making it 3.5 miles! That’s absolutely fantastic news – I’m super-proud of you 🙂

  6. Good call on making a few meals ahead of time! I’m kicking myself for not making that batch of quinoa which I had been planning to!

    Don’t knock your 3.5 mile run- it’s an awesome accomplishment!

  7. 3.5 miles is a lot I have been struggling to reach 5 km from the past 10 days so congrats 🙂
    the chanas look super yummy

  8. I can’t wait for a visit to our farmer’s market! I have to wait until after our vacation so another couple of weeks before we can go. 😦

    Those chickpea patties look GREAT! What a wonderful way to use up the leftovers.

  9. Farmers markets always make a weekend more fun! 🙂

    Do you mind coming over tonight and making those patties?? It would be greatly appreciated!

  10. I love farmers markets, all these colours and smells!!!
    That’s an awesome yoga mat you’ve got and very well done for your run 🙂

  11. Ok so I know its such a simple swap… but I would have never in a million years though of this — Chana Masala over quinoa!!! ahhh its perfect! you just made me really really happy with this little rice swap ❤ mwah!

    and those sanwiches look awesome Pri!

  12. Like how you substituted quinoa. Nice blog!

  13. I’ve never found kale at my farmer’s market before! Such a bummer. I’m craving it!

Leave a Reply

