Jamie inspired vegan pasta carbonara

Jamie Oliver is one of chefs I love, pray and really really hope I meet one day (others being Nigella, Anjum Anand and Giada). His style of cooking resonates with my style and in my ideal world, I would cook and garden just like him. If you have watched Jamie at home you know what I mean. Jamie at home’s library copy is always in my house and I look forward to getting the fresh ingredients to make his recipes. When I managed to snag the assorted squash loot last time from the farmers market, this recipe was on my mind. The only problem, carbonara is made of yolks and you know I hate them. So I decided to go vegan and make my own carbonara sauce.

Vegan Pasta Carbonara

Ingredients:

  •  8 oz penne
  • 2 cups assorted squashes cut at an angle.
  • 1 cup button mushroom sliced
  • fresh or dried thyme
  • 1 cup regular almond milk
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • sat and pepper
Directions:
  • Cook penne as per instruction till al dente and reserve the pasta water.
  • Heat EVOO in a skillet and add the mushrooms, with some thyme (fresh is best).
  • Next add the squashes and give it about a 2-3 minutes to  cook but still have a bite.
  • Make the sauce on the side, heat the almond milk, nutritional yeast and the cornflour mixture to form a thick sauce like consistency.
  • Finally add the cooked penne and toss everything together. The sauce should stick to the pasta, so you can add the reserved pasta water to loosen it up a bit.
  • Serve and enjoy.
This was so good, I went back for seconds. Really tasty!
Thank you dear Jamie for this amazing recipe!
**
Day 3: 30 day shred, I was walking like an 80 year old today and the only thing missing from the picture was a walking stick and my walk would make complete sense. I am crazy sore and to top it, I have the worst shin soreness after running last night.
**
In other news, Parita is engaged and Kat is married! Congrats girls!
Hope you are having a great start to the week!
About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 13, 2011, in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I too admire Jamie Oliver a lot.

    I never used nutrional yeast. I want to try once and I think I’ll try this recipe.
    I have started trying more vegan recipes. no plans of turning vegan though.

    LOL you are funny. Hope you shin is better.

  2. I love Jamie Oliver, he’s a legend. The only problem is he’s using too many ingredients so I always have to go for shopping before I cook something from his books.

    This dish seem pretty easy and delicious!

  3. Love this, it look delicious!

  4. i love jamie oliver and doesn’t hurt that he is so dishy the pasta looks good

  5. That looks so good! I’m definitely going to make this.

    Also, where did you get that giant jug of almond milk?!?!?! I’ve never seen that before and *need* to buy one! :]

  6. ooooh Jamie O is one of my favourites too!!!

  7. Thank you so much, P!!!!!! You are the best!

    And that pasta looks amazing…I need to buy some nutritional yeast!

  8. That pasta looks SOOO good. I love jilian – she kicks my butt

  9. Considering it’s winter and really cold here, this looks amazing! What brand of nooch do you use?

  10. I think Jamie Oliver is awesome…his cooking is so fresh and delicious. But he uses about 200 ingredients, 100 of which I never have on hand so sadly I have never made any of his recipes. But this one looks fantastic!

  11. ow! That looks so creamy and tasty- yum yum! I wish my food store sold the gallons of almond milk!

  12. Looks delicious! I’ve totally been wanting to do the 30 day shred thing FOREVER! I’ve been doing all my workouts in the gym and/or outside lately!

  13. Oh man! Another good one I want to try. And I LOVE Jamie too:)

Leave a Reply

