Shrimp and Cabbage Fried Rice

Good evening.

It has been a rather gloomy day in the southeast with raining, lightning and occasional thundering and since I was under the weather both mentally and physically, I needed something that would make my happy. And I think,Chinese food makes me really really happy. I am even more happier when I manage to make something taste just like the restaurant version. My fried rice today was Ah-mazing. Really not tooting my own horn or sounding like a donkey who praises its own tail, but this recipe was really that good.

Shrimp and Cabbage Fried Rice

Ingredients:

  • Cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 half of shredded cabbage
  • 1/2 lb of deveined shrimps
  • 3 scallions
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 T tamari
  • 2 T Vegetarian oyster sauce
  • 1/2 T Sriracha
  • 1 T Hot and sweet ketchup (or chili sauce)
  • Cilantro or green onions for garnishing.
  • 1 T canola oil.
Directions:
– Heat canola oil in a skillet and add onion and garlic.
-Once the onion and garlic are cooked, add the shrimps and stir for about 2 minutes.
– Next add the cabbage and saute for 2 minutes. You want to retain the crunchy texture.
-Next add the sauces, mix and dump the rice in.
-Season to taste. It will be salty enough from the sauces, so you may not need to season further.
-Optional: Add an egg/chicken instead of shrimp. You can also add toasted sesame oil, I am not a major fan so I skipped it.
**
Workout: NONE! Being under the weather is taking a toll on my training schedule.
About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 15, 2011, in Asian, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I hope you feel better! Gloomy weather always gets me down, especially in the summer!

  2. I love how fresh and simple this is! =)

  3. I’m so glad you were able to think of, and make, something that created some happiness in your life! Here’s to more smiles πŸ™‚

  4. Looks delicious, I will def be turning to it! Whenever I try to make fried rice, I go OTT with the soy sauce so it’s assuring to see it NOT on your recipe!

  5. I hope you feel better soon. Good work for taking care of yourself and making amazing food!
    I loooove shrimps πŸ™‚

  6. I might try your recipe out but sub tofu for shrimp! It sounds delicious.

    Sorry you are feeling bad. Make time to rest and take care of yourself!

  7. it looks good and u SHOULD praise urself!! πŸ™‚

  8. I love Chinese food but have never tried making it myself. I will have to try it now that you’ve made it sound not too difficult and like it actually has the potential to come out tasting decent. Sweet!

  9. Just what I feel like & I have all the ingredients. Love it.

  10. hey dear, i bought all ingredients for this. how much cooked rice should i use for this recipe???

Leave a Reply

