Eggplant in a tomato gravy

Growing up, as kids we weren’t allowed to fuss over food and make tantrums. If the dinner served does not include your favorite veg. you will suck it up and eat it, simply no complaints allowed. That is probably the reason why there is no food that we hate. Well that statement is not entirely true because I hate pumpkin and beets. Even those I had to eat, sometimes I managed to sneak some into my brothers or dad’s plate.

The husband on the other hand was a very fussy eater as a child, he had a limited taste palate when it came to foods. This did not go well with me after we got married, since I come from a disciplined family. It became my mission to expose him to various foods and slowly but surely managed to convert him into an almost all veggie lover. The first veg that he had to adjust to was eggplant and I had some really good recipes in my recipe treasure chest to make even the most extreme eggplant hater  a lover and that is exactly what happened.

So here I have an eggplant recipe that the husband has grown to love (the other being baingan bharta)

Ingredients:

(Serves 2 or 3)

½ of a medium sized eggplant.

1 medium potato

4 roma tomatoes

¼ cup chick pea flour

Spices: ½ tsp turmeric powder, ½ tsp cayenne pepper and 1 tsp dried mango powder or juice from a whole lemon.

Optional: mustard seeds, curry leaves and asafetida (can be found at your local Indian grocery store)

1 T canola oil

Salt to taste

Directions:

Chop the eggplant, potato and tomato

In a skillet, heat the canola oil and add the optional ingredients if using i.e. mustard seeds, curry leaves and asafetida. If not, go ahead and add the potatoes and cook them till they are soft.

Next add the tomatoes and cook them till they are all soft and mushy.

Once you have the soft consistency, add the eggplants, spices and cook till the eggplant is soft and cooked.

Finally add the flour and lemon juice and season to taste. Cook it till the rawness from the flour disappears from the gravy.

Serve with rice or quinoa!

YUMMY!

Picture tutorial:

chopped up

Start by tempering the hot oil with mustard seeds, asafoetida and curry leaves. If you don’t have these ingredients its quite alright, you can go ahead and add the potato.

Cook the potatoes first.

Once the potatoes are cooked, add the chopped tomatoes and cook till they are all soft and mushy,

Once the tomatoes are cooked, add the chopped eggplants and the spices,

Cover and cook for about 5 minutes or till the eggplants are cooked and then add two tablespoons of garbanzo bean flour,

Cook the gravy till the rawness from the flour goes away and serve.

I made this last weekend and the husband loved it!


About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 18, 2011, in Indian, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Yum! I was a super picky eater growing up and my palate has definitely expanded as I’ve gotten older. I LOVE eggplant, the man is not a fan. I will have to find a way to convert him!

  2. I am SUCH a huge fan of eggplant, and this dish sounds (and looks) amazing! I guess I am lucky because Nick’s parents raised him with a garden and eating lots of fruits and veggies. Nick was more picky when we first started dating, but he was always willing to try new things (and still is). He likes most fruits and veggies, but sadly eggplant is not one of them 😦 Maybe I will try this recipe with him!

  3. This looks so warm and delicious! I love eggplant. It’s one of my favorite veggies!

  4. Oh my god…you sound so much like me when you talk about yours and your husband’s tastes. I’ve been brought up to not hate anything too.
    Your eggplant recipes looks very interesting…will try this one soon!

  5. looks delish. i have bookmarked this one. i am geting hooked on to ur recipes!

  6. FUnny you just posted this, we made this at home just a few days ago! Although I will admit that it’s not my favorite way to enjoy aubergine although yours looks great!

  7. This looks fantastic, i am a huge eggplant lover 🙂

  8. My family was the same as yours! I love eggplant. Everyone has been cooking it lately, I need to make some!

Leave a Reply

