Polenta Greek Pizza

Hiya folks!

How was your day? Did you have a good Monday, I was quite busy  which is always a good thing. If things are not busy at the lab, the day gets slow and seems to just drag. I also managed to get my legs back into action. My knees and overall health was really down last week and rest was all it needed.I am charged and energized now, well, I have to be my race is on July 3.

Workout: Not major, but we walked to warm up and ran a mile!

Last night I showed you a snapshot of the polenta pizza crust I made for tonights dinner. Well I am happy to tell it was a great success. I love pizza but somehow the combination of dough and cheese does not go well with my stomach. So this corn crust is the perfect alternative.

Polenta Pizza crust:


– 3/4 cup cornmeal (I used the white one)

– 3 cups water

– 1/2 tsp salt

– pinch of pepper

In a skillet, add the water and let it come to a boil. Once boiling add the salt and the corn meal. Mix vigorously, you don’t want any lumps. The whole mixture takes about 7-9 minutes to thicken.

Once thick, add the pepper and bake them in pie pans.

I baked them for about 40 minutes at 350F. This gave it a crusty top.

Then can be cooled down and freeze really well.

This evening I defrosted one in the oven and topped it with some homemade tomato sauce (recipe courtesy Dani), sprinkle of some mozzarella, eggplant, asparagus and kalamata olives. Lets call this pizza, POLENTA GREEK PIZZA!

a little closer,
My friends this is my recipe of the week, I oohed and aahed while savoring each bite and the husband gave it a thumbs up too!

 

I love making makeshift pizzas anyways and if it tastes fantastic, that is definitely an icing on the cake!

How was your Monday?

Motivation Monday quote:

A hero is no braver than an ordinary man, but he is brave five minutes longer- Ralph Waldo Emerson

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Gluten free, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. ohmygosh I can make this!!!! yes~!!!!

  2. This looks fabulous! I’ve never really been fussed by pizza but I love polenta!

  3. nice nice! ur cooking is not inspiring my too cook.
    my week started off on the right note. wish tht my week continues positively!

  4. So fun! The outcome looks great! Polenta really does make an amazing and different crust. My Monday was OK. Having a lot of computer issues, so hoping they’re cleared up today

  5. I HAD to check out this recipe, because it sounded fantastic. I was not disappointed. YUM!! I’m going to have to make this some night, maybe sans the eggplant, but extra olives! Eggplant makes my stomach hurt for some strange reason. MAybe too much fiber??? haha

  6. YUM! That looks incredible! I have to make this crust. I love how you can freeze it so it makes a quick & easy dinner.

  7. I enjoy making pizza coz we can control what go into it and it’s so fun., i usually use the Tj’s dough. corn meal sounds like a good alternative. Your pizza looks yum yum.

    Love the quote.

  8. That crust looks awesome! And I love the Greek toppings too!

  9. Such a good idea! I have a ton of cornmeal at my house, so I will definitely make this 🙂

  10. That pizza looks delicious!

  11. I have never tried to make a polenta crust but with a fabulous easy recipe like this I think I am going to remedy that soon. This looks amazing!

  12. Oh my gosh, your recipes always look so amazing. You need to slow it down over here, i can’t keep up with all of this awesomeness. SO much to try!:)

Leave a Reply

