Second 5K and blog down time

Announcement: My blog may experience some downtime today, just wanted to give ya a heads up. Things should get back to normal tomorrow!

Hey guys, hope you had a great 4th of July weekend. Long weekends are always so much fun, however when the short workweek rolls in,each day feels like a Monday!

Thank you very much for all your wishes about my second 5K race. It went very well! I shaved off almost a minute from my first 5K time (37:05), agreed it was a flat course but still good right?!

Not my best shot but its all I have from the race!

 

My official time was 36:14 and chip time was 35:35 J I am so happy, I finished the race in the hot muggy weather maintaining a good stamina and energy, up until two miles. After which my energy was dwindling a bit, I took walking breaks but nothing too long to mess up my entire running.

As always there is room for improvement and I have to train to keep my energy levels up during the entire race! I’ll get there!

As opposed to last time, this time my average pace was 11:39, which was maintained almost through out the race (except two walking breaks).

It was terribly hot outside and there were “throwing up” shows all around. The husband actually saw a man collapse. Well at least I can say I did not collapse and finished it! I did think at one point that my shoes would catch fire with the heat and friction. On finishing the race, I grabbed a towel soaked it in cold water and laid it over my neck to cool down!  This helped a lot and prevented any blackouts J

On our way to the car, I grabbed a watermelon and felt so so happy! I have never been athletic, which was something my parents always wanted me (since both my parents and my brother are) to be and now in the 28th year of my life, I am experiencing a different thrill and I am so excited about it. Cannot wait for my next 5K!

**

Pre race we went to an Indian restaurant and did some major carb loading which probably wasn’t a great idea, since the lunch consumed at noon was still sitting like a rock at 9pm in the evening.

But still it was good 🙂

**

What was the highlight of your weekend?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Races and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Congrats on your 5k! 🙂 I have yet to run one, so you’re ahead of me for sure, ha.

  2. congrats on the great race! 🙂 it must feel great to see improvements in your time!

  3. Great job! I did a race on Monday and there was a man who totally collapsed near the end of the race. Paramedics were giving him CPR and stuff. He ended up okay though. The heat can be scary!

  4. Congratulations!! That’s amazing 🙂 We’re experinging minus degrees over here so I can’t even imagine spending much time outside!

  5. Very very well done! I’m very impressed with your time!
    Food always taste so much better after a race doesn’t it?!

  6. Congrats on the 5k! It’s such a great feeling of accomplishment!

  7. Congratulations Priyanka! What an amazing accomplishment!

    Indian food is fabulous but when does it NOT sit in one’s stomach like a rock? It’s totally worth it though!

  8. Congrats! Its always awesome when you shave some time off!!! Scary that people were collapsing and getting sick during the race. Highlight of my weekend was probably the 4th at my Aunts house 🙂

  9. You did awesome! Towards the beginning you passed me and I was like, ohhh no she didn’t! hahaha!

    I’m so excited for the next race. I’m volunteering at a 10k in a couple of weeks. If you volunteer to work the races you get a $5 off coupon towards your next race, just an fyi. I thought it’d be nice to meet other active people too :] Plus, it’s just an hour of my time ya know?

  10. Well done on the 5k! Awesome.

    Hey, we’re using the same wordpress theme on our blogs! Isn’t great. I love it, and have spotted loads of us using it so it must be great 🙂

Leave a Reply

