One crust, two courses

If there is one ingredient I am always a little skeptical to cook with it has to be eggs! I mean yolks are a big no no for me, but I have observed in some dishes they are tolerable and they won’t make me gag, like frittatas and quiche. So after almost two years, I was set to make a frittata this weekend but then I saw a leek and asparagus quiche video on everyday food and wanted to make a quiche. After 1o minutes of brainstorming for the perfect whole-wheat piecrust recipe, I was set out to make two recipes with it after all.

The recipe for the pie crust can be found here and the fillings were pretty simple, potatoes sliced thinly using a mandolin slicer, caramelized onions and green pepper, eggs and topped with pepper jack. Baked for about 45 minutes.

 

I had mine alongside ketchup, well because in my world ketchup makes everything better 🙂

Now on to the part II, since I had some leftover piecrust, I made mini pies  (idea borrowed from Simple Organized Living) and filled them with strawberry and cinnamon apples. Once baked, we enjoyed our own individual pies with Madagascar vanilla bean ice cream. Oh I cannot even describe how good these tasted! I have quite a few of these individual pies sitting in the freezer for a quick weekday dessert indulgence!

Workout: Attempt to increase my running speed is going quite well. Yesterday I ran 2 miles non-stop at 5.5 followed by some weights (biceps and triceps).

Weekday preparation: I made a simple BBQ tofu for easy weekday lunches. I simply sprayed the tofu with some cooking spray, seasoned it and coated with some BBQ sauce (disclaimer: I was sent this sauce for from Foodbuzz).

While the tofu cooked in the sauce the apartment smelled amazing!

What is the best thing you ate this weekend?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on July 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

